Appointments: Clergy appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The following clergy appointments have been announced by the Church of England:

The Rev Len Cox: permission to officiate diocese Canterbury.

The Rev Hugh Lawrance: to be Vicar, St Botolph, Knottingley (Wakefield).

The Rev Mark Strange, Curate, Worcester; St Barnabas with Christchurch: to be Vicar, Worcester, St Wulston (Worcester).

The Rev Robert Teare, Rector, Holy Trinity and St John the Baptist with St Martin, Winnall, Winchester, and Rural Dean of Winchester: to be also an honorary Canon of Winchester Cathedral (Winchester).

The Rev Terence Pinner, Diocesan Director of Ordinands, and Priest-in-charge Designate, Old Alresford and Bighton (Winchester): to be also an Honorary Canon of Winchester Cathedral, same diocese.

The Rev David Urquhart, Team Vicar, Drypool (York): to be Vicar, Holy Trinity, Coventry (Coventry).


The Rev Gerard Moate, Vicar, Charlesworth (Derby), has withdrawn his acceptance as Priest-in-charge, Old Newton and Gapping, and Communications officer for the diocese of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich.


The Ven Robert Dell, Archdeacon of Derby (Derby): to retire as from 30 November.

The Rev John Slyfield, Vicar, Tideswell (Derby): to retire as from 14 October.

Canon David Shiress, Vicar, St Michael and All Angels, Blackheath Park (Southwark): to retire as from 31 March 1993.

The Rev Robert Stapleton, Rector, Chenies and Little Chalfont, Latimer and Flaunden (Oxford): to retire as from 30 November.

The Rev Winifred Thomson, Deacon, Oadby Team Ministry (Leicester) to retire as from 31 December.

Canon Basil Trevor-Morgan, Vicar, Christchurch (Winchester): to retire as from 31 December.

The Rev Colin Wyatt, Rector, Bacton with Wyverstone and Cotton (St Edmundsbury and Ipswich): to retire as from 10 November.