TODAY: Mr Severiano Ballesteros, golfer, 37; M Jean-Paul Belmondo, actor, 61; Sir Simon Brown, a Lord Justice of Appeal, 57; Mr Eric Clarke MP, 61; Sir Brian Cubbon, former senior civil servant, 66; Mr Iain Duncan-Smith MP, 40; The Most Rev Domenico Enrici, former Apostolic Nuncio, 85; Lord Fitt, former MP, 68; Senator J. William Fulbright, statesman, 89; Miss Hannah Gordon, actress, 53; Sir Hew Hamilton-Dalrymple Bt, Lord-Lieutenant of East Lothian, 68; Mr Roger Harrison, chairman, Toynbee Hall, and deputy chairman, Capital Radio, 61; Mr Hugh Hefner, magazine publisher, 68; Sir Graham Hills, former Principal, Strathclyde University, 68; Mr Eric Illsley MP, 39; Mr Tom Jackson, former trade union leader, 69; Mr Bernard Jenkin MP, 35; Mr Alan Knott, cricketer, 48; Mr Tom Lehrer, songwriter and lecturer, 66; Mr Peter Moores, former chairman, Littlewoods, 62; The Right Rev Gerald Moverley, Roman Catholic Bishop of Hallam, 72; Mr Vincent O'Brien, racehorse trainer, 77; Sir Michael Ogden QC, 68; Sir Michael Palliser, former Head of the Diplomatic Service, 72; Mr Carl Perkins, rock singer and guitarist, 62; Sir Michael Richardson, chairman, Smith New Court, 69; Mr Martin Rogers, director, Farmington Institute for Christian Studies, 63; Professor Richard Rose, Professor of Public Policy, Strathclyde University, 61; Mr Tony Sibson, middleweight boxer, 36; Miss Valerie Singleton, broadcaster, 57; Sir Michael Somare, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Papua New Guinea, 58; Mr Glenn F. Tilton, chairman, Texaco, 46; Professor David Walker QC, Professor Emeritus of Law, Glasgow University, 74; Sir Richard Young, former chairman, Boosey and Hawkes, 80.

TOMORROW: Mr Lyndon Brook, actor, 68; Lord Brookes, former company chairman, 85; Sir Anthony Cleaver, chairman, IBM UK, 56; Vice-Admiral Sir Alastair Ewing, 85; Mr Patrick Garland, theatre and film director, 59; Mr Adrian Henri, former president, Liverpool Academy of Arts, 62; Mr John Holroyd, Secretary for Appointments to the Prime Minister, 59; Miss Gloria Hunniford, radio presenter, 54; Mr Owen Kelly, Commissioner of Police for the City of London, 62; Professor Kathleen Major, former Principal, St Hilda's College, Oxford, 88; Mr Stan Mellor, racehorse trainer and former jockey, 57; Mr David Moorcroft, athlete, 41; Lord Morton of Shuna, a Senator of the College of Justice in Scotland, 64; Sir Robert Rhodes James, historian and former MP, 61; M Maurice Schumann, author and former government minister, 83; Mr Omar Sharif, actor, 62; Mr Thomas Spencer, MEP, 46; Mr Christopher Stoddart, managing director, GMTV, 44; Mr Paul Theroux, author, 53; Mr Norman Vaughan, comedian, 69; Mr Max von Sydow, actor, 65.

Start your day with The Independent, sign up for daily news emails
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

iJobs Job Widget
iJobs People

Recruitment Genius: Office Manager

Negotiable: Recruitment Genius: Have you been doing a brilliant job in an admi...

Surrey County Council: Senior Project Officer (Fixed Term to Feb 2019)

£26,498 - £31,556: Surrey County Council: We are looking for an outgoing, conf...

Recruitment Genius: Interim Head of HR

£50000 - £60000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: Are you an innovative, senior H...

Recruitment Genius: Human Resources and Payroll Administrator

£20000 - £22000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: Our client, a very well respect...

Day In a Page

HIV pill: Scientists hail discovery of 'game-changer' that cuts the risk of infection among gay men by 86%

Scientists hail daily pill that protects against HIV infection

Breakthrough in battle against global scourge – but will the NHS pay for it?
How we must adjust our lifestyles to nature: Welcome to the 'Anthropocene', the human epoch

Time to play God

Welcome to the 'Anthropocene', the human epoch where we may need to redefine nature itself
MacGyver returns, but with a difference: Handyman hero of classic 1980s TV series to be recast as a woman

MacGyver returns, but with a difference

Handyman hero of classic 1980s TV series to be recast as a woman
Tunnel renaissance: Why cities are hiding roads down in the ground

Tunnel renaissance

Why cities are hiding roads underground
'Backstreet Boys - Show 'Em What You're Made Of': An affectionate look at five middle-aged men

Boys to men

The Backstreet Boys might be middle-aged, married and have dodgy knees, but a heartfelt documentary reveals they’re not going gently into pop’s good night
Crufts 2015: Should foreign dogs be allowed to compete?

Crufts 2015

Should foreign dogs be allowed to compete?
10 best projectors

How to make your home cinema more cinematic: 10 best projectors

Want to recreate the big-screen experience in your sitting room? IndyBest sizes up gadgets to form your film-watching
Manchester City 1 Barcelona 2 player ratings: Luis Suarez? Lionel Messi? Joe Hart? Who was the star man?

Manchester City vs Barcelona player ratings

Luis Suarez? Lionel Messi? Joe Hart? Who was the star man at the Etihad?
Arsenal vs Monaco: Monaco - the making of Gunners' manager Arsene Wenger

Monaco: the making of Wenger

Jack Pitt-Brooke speaks to former players and learns the Frenchman’s man-management has always been one of his best skills
Cricket World Cup 2015: Chris Gayle - the West Indies' enigma lives up to his reputation

Chris Gayle: The West Indies' enigma

Some said the game's eternal rebel was washed up. As ever, he proved he writes the scripts by producing a blistering World Cup innings
In Ukraine a dark world of hybrid warfare and murky loyalties prevails

In Ukraine a dark world of hybrid warfare

This war in the shadows has been going on since the fall of Mr Yanukovych
'Birdman' and 'Bullets Over Broadway': Homage or plagiarism?

Homage or plagiarism?

'Birdman' shares much DNA with Woody Allen's 'Bullets Over Broadway'
Broadchurch ends as damp squib not even David Tennant can revive

A damp squib not even David Tennant can revive

Broadchurch, Series 2 finale, review
A Koi carp breeding pond, wall-mounted iPads and a bathroom with a 'wellness' shower: inside the mansion of Germany's 'Bishop of Bling'

Inside the mansion of Germany's 'Bishop of Bling'

A Koi carp breeding pond, wall-mounted iPads and a bathroom with a 'wellness' shower