Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr Alan Beith MP, 51; Professor Derek Bowett QC, former President, Queens' College, Cambridge, 67; Mr Michael Brandon, actor, 49; Mr Ray Brooks, actor, 55; Sir Geoffrey Chipperfield, former civil servant, 61; The Right Rev Frederick Darwent, former Bishop of Aberdeen and Orkney, 67; Maj-Gen Sir Charles Dunphie, former chairman, Vickers, 92; Miss Nina Foch, actress, 70; Mr Graeme Fowler, cricketer, 37; Sir Arnold France, former Chairman, Board of Inland Revenue, 83; Mr John Eliot Gardiner, conductor, 51; Mr Mauricio Gugelmin, racing driver, 31; Mr Jeremy Hayes MP, 41; Mr Paul Heiney, writer and broadcaster, 45; Miss Louise Jameson, actress, 43; Sir Antony Jay, author and scriptwriter, 64; Mr Eddie Kulukundis, theatrical producer, 62; Miss Jessica Lange, actress, 45; Mr Nick Lyndhurst, actor, 33; Mr Ryan O'Neal, actor, 53; Mr Rodger Pannone, solicitor, and President of the Law Society of England and Wales, 51; Mr Leslie Phillips, actor, 70; Mr Eric Pickles MP, 42; Sir Hilton Poynton, former senior civil servant, 89; Sir John Quicke, agriculturist, 72; Mr Richard Rhodes, Headmaster, Rossall School, 52; Mr Christopher Robinson, organist and director of music, St John's College, Cambridge, 58; Mr Peter Snow, television presenter and newscaster, 56; Miss Jean Southworth QC, Crown Court Recorder, 68; Mr Gerry Steinberg MP, 49; Air Marshal Sir Richard Wakeford, 72; Mr Henry Wrong, director, European Arts Foundation, 64.