Click to follow
The Independent Online
Miss Mabel Allan, mystery writer, 79; Sir John Arbuthnot, former MP, 82; Sir Ronald Arculus, former diplomat, 71; Vice-Admiral Sir Peter Berger, 69; Lord Bonham-Carter, chairman, Governors of the Royal Ballet, 72; Professor Marilyn Butler, Professor of English literature, Cambridge University, 57; Sir Alexander Cairncross, Chancellor, Glasgow University, 83; Mr James Couchman MP, 52; Mr Christopher Dearnley, organist, 64; Mr Patrick Leigh Fermor, author, 79; Sir Archibald Forster, former chairman and chief executive, Esso UK, 66; Sir Vivian Fuchs, Antarctic explorer, 86; Sir Alexander Gibson, conductor, and founder of the Scottish Opera Company, 68; Mr Bryan Gould MP, 55; Miss Anne Gregg, broadcaster, 54; Mr Win Griffiths MP, 51; Lt-Gen Sir Jeremy Mackenzie, commander, Ace Rapid Reaction Corps, 54; Mr Leslie Nielsen, actor, 68; Miss Mary Quant, fashion designer, 60; Mr Burt Reynolds, actor, 58; Baroness Sharples, former director, TVS, 71; Mr Dennis Skinner MP, 62; Miss Kim Stanley, film actress, 69; Mr John Surtees, motor and motor-cycle racing champion, 60; Mr EW Swanton, sporting author and BBC commentator, 87; Miss Mary Tregear, art historian, 70; Mr Malcolm Walker, chairman and chief executive, Iceland Frozen Foods, 48.