TODAY: Sir Nicholas Barrington, High Commissioner to Pakistan, 60; Miss Gloria DeHaven, actress, 70; Sir Alastair Down, former chairman, Burmah Oil, 80; Mr David Essex, entertainer, 47; Mr Michael Foot, former MP, 81; Mr Graham Gooch, cricketer, 41; Mr Alastair Graham, former Headmaster, Mill Hill School, 62; The Rev Mrs Betsy Haworth, former Commissioner, Third Church Estates, 70; Sir Harry Hookway, former Pro-Chancellor, Loughborough University, 73; Mrs Elspeth Huxley, author, 87; Sir Charles Kerruish, president of Tynwald, Isle of Man, 77; Mr Viktor Korchnoi, chess champion, 63; Air Vice-Marshal George Lamb, 81; Mr David Lawman, former chairman, Prestige Group, 73; Mr Clive Rice, cricketer, 45; Sir Richard Rogers, architect, 61; Professor Andrew Rutherford, former Warden, Goldsmiths' College, 65; Sir John Stokes, former MP, 77; Mr Peter Twiss, former test pilot, 73.

TOMORROW: Mr Zaheer Abbas, cricketer, 47; Mr John Ambler, vice-president, Texaco, 60; Baroness Blatch, Minister of State for Education, 57; Mr Julian Brazier MP, 41; Miss Lynda Carter, actress and singer, 43; Sir Trevor Chinn, chairman and chief executive, Lex Service, 59; Mr Robin Cutler, director-general, Forestry Commission, 60; Lord Digby, Lord-Lieutenant for Dorset, 70; Mr Robert Farnon, composer, 78; Sir Edward Ford, Secretary and Registrar, the Order of Merit, 84; M Jacques Fouroux, rugby player, 47; Mr Charles Hambro, chairman, Hambros, 64; Mr James Hele, former High Master, St Paul's School, 68; Mr Wilfred Josephs, composer, 67; Vice-Admiral Sir David Loram, former Deputy Supreme Allied Commander Atlantic, 70; Mr Edwin Mirvish, proprietor, the Old Vic, 80; Mr Les Reed, songwriter, 59; Mr Ruggiero Ricci, violinist, 76; Mr Christopher Smith MP, 43; Sir Colin Southgate, chairman and chief executive, Thorn EMI, 56; Miss Nora Swinburne, actress, 92; Professor Frank Thistlethwaite, founding Vice-Chancellor, University of East Anglia, 79; Mr Peter Yates, film director and producer, 65.

Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

iJobs Job Widget
iJobs People

Geography Teacher

£85 - £140 per day: Randstad Education Cheshire: We require a teacher of Geogr...

HR Assistant / Human Resources Assistant

£Neg + Excellent Benefits: Guru Careers: An HR Assistant / Human Resources Ass...

Talent Community Coordinator

£Neg + Excellent Benefits: Guru Careers: A Talent Community Coordinator is nee...

Business Support - Banking - Halifax - £250 pd

£150 - £250 per day: Orgtel: HR Analyst - Banking - HR - Halifax - £150 - £250...

Day In a Page

Evan Davis: The BBC’s wolf in sheep’s clothing to take over at Newsnight

The BBC’s wolf in sheep’s clothing

What will Evan Davis be like on Newsnight?
Finding the names for America’s shame: What happens to the immigrants crossing the US-Mexico border without documents who never make it past the Arizona desert?

Finding the names for America’s shame

The immigrants crossing the US-Mexico border without documents who never make it past the Arizona desert
Inside a church for Born Again Christians: Speaking to God in a Manchester multiplex

Inside a church for Born Again Christians

As Britain's Anglican church struggles to establish its modern identity, one branch of Christianity is booming
Rihanna, Kim Kardashian and me: How Olivier Rousteing is revitalising the house of Balmain

Olivier Rousteing is revitalising the house of Balmain

Parisian couturier Pierre Balmain made his name dressing the mid-century jet set. Today, Olivier Rousteing – heir to the house Pierre built – is celebrating their 21st-century equivalents. The result? Nothing short of Balmania
Cancer, cardiac arrest, HIV and homelessness - and he's only 39

Incredible survival story of David Tovey

Tovey went from cooking for the Queen to rifling through bins for his supper. His is a startling story of endurance against the odds – and of a social safety net failing at every turn
Backhanders, bribery and abuses of power have soared in China as economy surges

Bribery and abuses of power soar in China

The bribery is fuelled by the surge in China's economy but the rules of corruption are subtle and unspoken, finds Evan Osnos, as he learns the dark arts from a master
Commonwealth Games 2014: Highland terriers stole the show at the opening ceremony

Highland terriers steal the show at opening ceremony

Gillian Orr explores why a dog loved by film stars and presidents is finally having its day
German art world rocked as artists use renowned fat sculpture to distil schnapps

Brewing the fat from artwork angers widow of sculptor

Part of Joseph Beuys' 1982 sculpture 'Fettecke' used to distil schnapps
BBC's The Secret History of Our Streets reveals a fascinating window into Britain's past

BBC takes viewers back down memory lane

The Secret History of Our Streets, which returns with three films looking at Scottish streets, is the inverse of Benefits Street - delivering warmth instead of cynicism
Joe, film review: Nicolas Cage delivers an astonishing performance in low budget drama

Nicolas Cage shines in low-budget drama Joe

Cage plays an ex-con in David Gordon Green's independent drama, which has been adapted from a novel by Larry Brown
How to make your own gourmet ice lollies, granitas, slushy cocktails and frozen yoghurt

Make your own ice lollies and frozen yoghurt

Think outside the cool box for this summer's tempting frozen treats
Ford Fiesta is UK's most popular car of all-time, with sales topping 4.1 million since 1976

Fiesta is UK's most popular car of all-time

Sales have topped 4.1 million since 1976. To celebrate this milestone, four Independent writers recall their Fiestas with pride
10 best reed diffusers

Heaven scent: 10 best reed diffusers

Keep your rooms smelling summery and fresh with one of these subtle but distinctive home fragrances that’ll last you months
Commonwealth Games 2014: Female boxers set to compete for first time

Female boxers set to compete at Commonwealth Games for first time

There’s no favourites and with no headguards anything could happen
Five things we’ve learned so far about Manchester United under Louis van Gaal

Five things we’ve learned so far about United under Van Gaal

It’s impossible to avoid the impression that the Dutch manager is playing to the gallery a little