Click to follow
The Independent Online
Major Sir Ralph Anstruther Bt, Equerry to the Queen Mother, 73; Mr Nicholas Brown MP, 44; Mr David Curry MP, Minister of State for the Environment, 50; Mr Timothy Devlin MP, 35; Professor Inga-Stina Ewbank, Professor of English literature, Leeds University, 62; Lord Finsberg, former MP, 68; Sir Maxwell Harper Gow, former chairman, Christian Salvesen, 76; Mr Gwynne Howell, opera bass singer, 56; Mr Tom King MP, 61; Captain Norman Lloyd-Edwards, Lord-

Lieutenant of South Glamorgan, 61; Sir Peter Marychurch, former director, GCHQ, 67; Mr Michael Melluish, president of the MCC, 62; Colonel Sir John Ruggles-Brise, Bt, former Lord- Lieutenant of Essex, 86; Dr Bertram Schofield, former Egerton Librarian, British Museum, 98; Mr Peter Scudamore, jockey and trainer, 36; Mrs Mary Whitehouse, president, National Viewers' and Listeners' Association, 84; Mr Andreas Whittam Smith, editor, the Independent, 57.