Click to follow
The Independent Online
TODAY: Miss Ursula Andress, actress, 58; Sir Nigel Broomfield, ambassador to Germany, 57; Miss Glenn Close, actress, 47; Lady Georgina Coleridge, journalist, 78; Mr Peter Cotes, theatrical director and producer, 82; Professor Ronald Girdwood, former president, Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, 77; The Right Rev Ronald Gordon, former Bishop of Lambeth, 67; Mr Bryan Hildrew, former managing director, Lloyd's Register of Shipping, 74; Vice-Admiral Sir Norman King, chairman, Buckinghamshire Health Authority, 61; Sir David Lumsden, former Principal, Royal Academy of Music, 66; Dame Elizabeth Maconchy, composer, 87; Mr Paul Marland MP, 54; Sir Peter Masefield, aviation authority, 80; Mr Philip Mason, writer, 88; Lord Plant of Highfield, Professor of Politics, Southampton University, 49; Lt-Gen Sir Alan Reay, Chief Honorary Steward, Westminster Abbey, 69; Sir Kenneth Robinson, former Chairman, Arts Council, 83; Mr Philip Roth, novelist, 61; Sir Leonard Scopes, former diplomat, 82; Miss Mary Wimbush, actress, 70.

TOMORROW: Sir William Asscher, Dean, St George's Hospital Medical School, London University, 63; The Very Rev William Baddeley, former Rector, St James's, Piccadilly, 80; Dr Wendy Baron, Director, Government Art Collection, 57; Mr Anthony Blond, publisher, 66; Mr Timothy Brooks, Lord-Lieutenant of Leicestershire, 65; Sir Arnold Burgen, former Master, Darwin College, Cambridge, 72; The Right Rev Mario Joseph Conti, Roman Catholic Bishop of Aberdeen, 60; Mr Douglas French MP, 50; Mr John Joubert, composer, 67; Mr Madan Lal, cricketer, 43; Dame Vera Lynn, singer, 77; M Pierre Messmer, former prime minister of France, 78; Sir David Montgomery, former Chairman, Forestry Commission, 63; Mr Brian Mulroney, former Prime Minister of Canada, 55; Mr Jeremy Nichols, Headmaster, Stowe School, 51; Mr Phillip Oppenheim MP, 38; Dr John Rae, former Headmaster, Westminster School, 63; Mr Sviatoslav Richter, pianist, 79; Sir Mark Saville, a Lord Justice of Appeal, 58; Sir Harry Solomon, chairman, Hillsdown Holdings, 57; Mr Tim Yeo MP, 49.