Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr Jarvis Astaire, deputy chairman, Wembley Stadium, 71; Mr Richie Benaud, cricket commentator, 64; Sir Alfred Blake, former director, Duke of Edinburgh's Award Scheme, 79; Mr Melvyn Bragg, writer and broadcaster, 55; Mr Richard Caborn MP, 51; Baroness Castle of Blackburn, former MP and MEP, 84; Lord Cullen of Ashbourne, a Lieutenant of the City of London, 82; Lord Donaldson of Lymington, former Master of the Rolls, 74; Mr Tony Greig, cricketer, 48; Dr Thor Heyerdahl, explorer and anthropologist, 80; Mr Tommy Lawton, footballer, 75; Mr David Maland, barrister and former High Master of Manchester Grammar School, 65; Miss Helen Wills Moody (Roark), former tennis player, 89; Mr Clive Rees, rugby international, 43; Admiral Sir Derek Reffell, former Governor of Gibraltar, 66; Sir William Stabb QC, former circuit judge, 81; Field Marshal Sir John Stanier, HM Constable of the Tower of London, 69; Mr Ernest Walton, physicist, 91.