Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr Komei Abe, composer, 83; Mr David Bairstow, cricketer, 43; Sir Kenneth Bradshaw, former Clerk of the House of Commons, 72; Mr Richard Burden MP, 40; Miss Yvonne de Carlo, actress, 72; Professor Ronald Cooke, Vice-Chancellor, York University, 53; Mr Richard Edis, ambassador to Mozambique, 51; Mr Gwynfor Evans, honorary president, Plaid Cymru, 82; Mrs Margaret Ewing MP, 49; Air Chief Marshal Sir Robert Freer, 71; Mr Barry Gibb, singer, 48; Mr Allen Jones, artist, 57; Baroness Park of Monmouth, chairman, Royal Commission on the Historical Monuments of England, 73; Lord Parkinson, former government minister, 63; Sir Austin Pearce, former chairman, British Aerospace, 73; Mr Manuel Pinero, golfer, 42; Lord Riverdale, former president, Balfour Darwins, 93; Mr Milton Shulman, film and theatre critic, 76; Mr Leonard Slatkin, conductor, 40; Lord Thomson of Fleet, newspaper proprietor, 71; Miss Lily Tomlin, entertainer, 55.