Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mrs Shirley Temple Black, former child actress and US ambassador, 65; The Most Rev Michael Bowen, Roman Catholic Archbishop of Southwark, 63; Mr Bill Cotton, chairman, Noel Gay Television, 65; Mr Antony Craxton, Television producer, 75; Mr JP Donleavy, author, 67; Sir Diarmuid Downs, automotive engineer, 71; Mr David Evans MP, 58; Mr Harold French, actor, theatre and film director, 96; Mr Leslie French, actor, singer and director, 89; The Hon Victoria Glendinning, author, 56; Mr William Hagerty, editor, the People, 54; Sir Arnold Hall, former chairman, Hawker Siddeley Group, 78; Mr Russell Hillhouse, Permanent Under-Secretary, Scottish Office, 55; Miss Su Ingle, Television presenter, 38; Mr Kevin Jarvis, cricketer, 40; Mr James Kirkup, writer, 70; Dr Richard Laws, Master, St Edmund's College, Cambridge, 67; Mr Lee Majors, actor, 53; Col Sir Andrew Martin, former Lord-Lieutenant of Leicestershire, 79; Mr Tony Miles, chess player, 38; Mr Ronald Neame, film producer and director, 82; Sir Thomas Padmore, former senior civil servant, 84; Mr Mike Smith, disc jockey, 38; Professor George Steiner, professor of English, University of Geneva, 64; Mr Ed Stewart, former disc jockey, 52; Mr Walter Sweeney MP, 44; Sir Herbert Tetley, actuary, 85; Mr Colin Welch, columnist and critic, 69; Miss Tessa Wyatt, actress, 45; Sir Eric Yarrow, former chairman, Clydesdale Bank, 73.