Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr David Astor, chairman, Council for the Protection of Rural England, 50; Mr Ernest Beaumont, former chairman, Bunzl, 72; Sir Philip Beck, chairman, John Mowlem, 59; Mr Mervyn Bourdillon, Lord-Lieutenant of Powys, 69; Sir Ewen Broadbent, former senior civil servant, 69; The Right Rev Colin Buchanan, former Bishop of Aston, 59; Professor Elizabeth Cutter, botanist, 64; Mr Tam Dalyell MP, 61; Baroness Denington, former teacher and journalist, 86; Capt Colin Farquharson of Whitehouse, Lord-Lieutenant of Aberdeenshire, 70; Sir Christophor Laidlaw, former chairman, Bridon, 71; Mr Rod Laver, tennis player, 55; Sir Frank Layfield QC, 72; Mr James Naughtie, broadcaster, 42; Rear-Admiral George Ross, marine engineer, 93; Dr David VanderLinde, Vice-Chancellor, Bath University, 51; Sir Mark Weinberg, chairman, J. Rothschild Assurance, 62; Maj-Gen Sir Christopher Welby- Everard, 84; Mr Julian Wellesley, chairman, Eastbourne District Health Authority, 60; Lord Young of Dartington, director, Institute of Community Studies, 78.