Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr Jonathan Aitken MP, Minister of State for Defence Procurement, 51; Dr Barbara Ansell, rheumatologist, 70; Miss Elizabeth Ashley, actress, 54; Sir Harold Atcherley, former chairman, Toynbee Hall, 75; Sir Patrick Branigan QC, former Attorney-General, Gold Coast, 87; Sir Keith Bright, former chairman, London Regional Transport, 62; Sir Charles Burman, former chairman, Tarmac, 85; Mr Allan Davis, actor, director and producer, 80; Mr Kenneth Gill, former trade union leader, 66; Dr Alan Gilmour, former director, NSPCC, 65; Mr Martin Harris, chartered accountant and company director, 71; Lord Healey CH, former government minister, 76; Air Marshal Sir Frank Holroyd, former Chief Engineer, RAF, 58; Miss Jayne Irving, television presenter, 37; Lord Keith of Castleacre, merchant banker, 77; Sir Desmond Lee, former president, Hughes Hall, Cambridge, 85; Dr Jeremy Lee-Potter, chairman, British Medical Association, 59; The Countess of Longford, writer, 87; Mr William McAlister, cultural programme co-ordinator, Soros Foundations, 53; Miss Sue MacGregor, BBC radio presenter, 52; Dr Peter North, principal, Jesus College, Oxford, 57; Sir Peter Parker, company chairman, 69; Mr John Peel, disc jockey, 54; Sir Henry Phillips, former colonial administrator, 79; Miss Audrey Scott, headmistress, Queen Anne's School, Caversham, 59; Mr George Stevenson MP, 55; Professor John Thoday, geneticist, 77; The Very Rev Professor Thomas Torrance, theologian, 80; Sir Philip Woodfield, former senior civil servant, 70.