Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr Benny Andersson, rock singer with Abba, 47; Professor Sir Harold Bailey, Sanskrit scholar, 94; Mr Norman Blamey, painter, 79; Sir Michael Carlisle, Chairman, Trent Regional Health Authority, 64; Mr Arthur C. Clarke, science fact and fiction writer, 76; Mrs Myrella Cohen, circuit judge, 66; Professor Bernard Crick, political teacher and biographer, 64; The Hon Peter Dickinson, author, 66; Mr Christopher Ellison, actor, 47; Mr Joel Garner, cricketer, 41; Mr Robert Gunn, former chairman of Boots, 68; Mr Tony Hicks, rock guitarist, 48; Sir Jasper Hollom, former Deputy Governor, Bank of England, 76; Mrs Jacqui Lait MP, 46; Miss Stephanie Lawrence, singer, 40; Lord Margadale, former MP, 87; Lord Mottistone, Lord-Lieutenant and Governor of the Isle of Wight, 73; Sir Victor Pritchett, author and critic, 93; Lt-Gen Sir David Scott-Barrett, chairman, Army Cadet Force Association, 71; Mr Rodion Shchedrin, composer, 61; Mr Graham Stevenson, Yorkshire and England cricketer, 38; Sir John Thompson, former High Court judge, 86; Miss Jacqueline Thwaites, head of the Inchbald Schools of Design and Fine Arts, 62; Miss Liv Ullmann, actress, 55; Mr William Whatley, former trade union official, 71.