Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr Peter Allen, television journalist, 47; Vice-Admiral Sir Peter Ashmore, 72; The Hon Sir Clive Bossom Bt, former MP, 75; Mr Jim Cunningham MP, 52; Dr PE Thompson Hancock, specialist in cancer treatment, 89; Lord Haslam, former chairman, British Coal, 70; Mr Russell Hoban, author, 68; Mr Erich Leinsdorf, conductor, 81; Mr John Lowein, former chairman and chief executive of Mobil Oil, 69; Miss Ida Lupino, actress, 75; The Hon Mrs (Ray) Michie MP, 59; Mr Stanley Newens, MEP, 63; Sir James Nicholson, a judge of the High Court of Northern Ireland, 60; Dr James McIntosh Patrick, painter and etcher, 86; Mr Richard Pollard, chief constable, Thames Valley, 48; Mr William Ross MP, 57; Mr Richard Ryder MP, Chief Government Whip, 44; Lord Shawcross QC, former Chancellor, Sussex University, 91; Mr John Willan, managing director, London Philharmonic, 50; Mr Norman Wisdom, comedian, 73; The Most Rev Derek Worlock, Roman Catholic Archbishop of Liverpool, 73; Sir Christopher Zeeman, principal, Hertford College, Oxford, 68.