Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr David Amess MP, 41; Colonel Sir Michael Ansell, former director, Horse of the Year Show, 88; Mr Alan Arkin, actor, 59; Mr Graham Barlow, cricketer, 43; Mr Pierre Boulez, conductor and composer, 68; Mr James Caan, actor, 54; Miss Carole Carr, singer, 65; Miss Kyung-wha Chung, concert violinist, 45; Lord Graham of Edmonton, former MP, 68; Mr William Hague MP 32; Miss Jean Graham Hall, former circuit judge, 76; Lord Hooson QC, 68; Air Marshal Sir Peter Horsley, former chairman, ML Holdings, 72; Miss Elizabeth Jane Howard, novelist, 70; Sir George Jefferson, chairman, Videotron Corp, 72; Sir Bernard Katz, biophysicist, 82; The Earl of Kinnoull, former director, Woolwich Equitable Building Society, 58; Miss Kelly Le Brock, actress, 33; Vice-Admiral Sir Ian McGeoch, 79; Dr Kenneth Mellanby, entomologist, 85; Sir Leslie Melville, economist, 91; Mr Leonard Nimoy, actor, 62; Mr Geoffrey Paul, US affairs editor, Jewish Chronicle, 64; Mr Terry Pryce, chairman, Solway Foods, 59; Mr David Quilter, vice Lord-Lieutenant of Somerset, 72; Mr Harry Rabinowitz, conductor and composer, 77; Sir Sidney Ridley, former senior Indian civil servant, 91; Miss Diana Ross, singer, 49; Mr Colin Webb, editor-in-chief, Press Association, 54.