Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr James Aldridge, author, 74; Mr Arthur Ashe, tennis player, 49; Mr Tony Baldry MP, Under-Secretary of State for the Environment, 42; Mr Tommy Carmody, jockey, 36; Sir John Cockram, former chairman, Rickmansworth Water Co, 84; Sir Arthur Collins, solicitor, 81; Lord Desai, professor of economics, 52; Mr Dawie de Villiers, South African diplomat and politician, 52; Mr John Dunlop, racehorse trainer, 53; Mrs Winnie Ewing, MEP, 63; Mr Denzil Freeth, former MP, 68; Mr Sunil Gavaskar, cricketer, 43; Mr Graham Johnson, piano accompanist, 42; Sir George Kenyon, former chairman, William Kenyon & Sons, 80; Miss Janet Key, actress, 47; Lord Lambton, former government minister, 70; Miss Evelyn Laye, actress and singer, 92; Professor Ian Lucas, agriculturalist, 66; Sir Christopher McMahon, former chairman, the Midland Bank, 65; Mr John Maltby, chairman, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority, 64; The Very Rev Ivan Neill, former chaplain to the Queen, 80; Sir Leslie Porter, former president, Tesco, 72; Sir Jack Rampton, former senior civil servant, 72; Sir Wyn Roberts MP, Minister of State, Welsh Office, 62; Mr Reg Smythe, cartoonist, 75; Mr Keith Stackpole, cricketer, 52; Dr Gavin Strang MP, 49; Miss Josephine Veasey, mezzo-soprano opera singer, 62; Miss Virginia Wade, tennis player, 47; Mr Ian Wallace, actor, broadcaster and concert singer, 73; Sir Reginald Wilson, chartered accountant and former company chairman, 87; Mrs Rosemary Wolff, member of the Police Complaints Authority, 66; Maj-Gen Sir Brian Wyldbore-Smith, 79.