Click to follow
The Independent Online
Miss Lynne Reid Banks, author, 63; Mr Steuart Bedford, conductor, 53; Mrs Evonne Cawley, tennis player, 41; Miss Geraldine Chaplin, actress, 48; Viscount Churchill, investment manager, 58; Sir Trenchard Cox, former director, Victoria & Albert Museum, 87; Mr Brooke Crutchley, former Printer to Cambridge University, 85; M Henri Decae, director of cinema photography, 77; Mr Norman Del Mar, conductor, 73; Mr Jonathan Dimbleby, broadcaster, 48; Lord James Douglas- Hamilton MP, Under Secretary of State, Scottish Office, 50; Sir David Erskine Bt, 80; Professor Milton Friedman, economist, 80; Mr Frank Giles, former newspaper editor, 73; Mr Richard Greenbury, chairman and chief executive officer, Marks & Spencer, 56; Sir David Hirst, High Court judge, 67; Lord Inglewood, MEP, 41; Mr Brian Inglis, author and editor, 76; Mr Ralph Koltai, stage designer, 68; Miss Sherry Lansing, former president, 20th Century Fox, 48; Sir Charles McCullough, High Court judge, 61; Mr Alan Meale, MP, 43; Mr Peter Nichols, playwright, 65; Air Chief Marshal Sir Thomas Prickett, 79; Mr Anthony Scrivener, QC, chairman of the Bar, 57; Professor Robert Steel, former vice-chancellor, University of Wales, 77; Lord Thomas of Gwydir, former government minister, 72; Sir Geofroy Tory, former diplomat, 80; Mr Richard Vane, MEP, 41.