Click to follow
The Independent Online
Sir Bernard Ashley, chairman, Laura Ashley, 66; Sir Richard Barratt, former Chief Inspector of Constabulary, 64; Mr Don Boyd, film director, 44; Sir Geoffrey Cass, chief executive, Cambridge University Press, 60; Miss Arlene Dahl, actress, 68; Mr Kenneth Eastham MP, 65; Professor John Fincham, geneticist, 66; Professor Alun Hoddinott, composer, 63; Lord Houghton of Sowerby CH, former government minister, 94; Professor Derry Jeffares, editor and literary authority, 72; Sir Aaron Klug, biologist, 66; Dame Jean Lancaster, former director, WRNS, 83; Mr Raymond Leppard, conductor, 65; Miss Anna Massey, actress, 55; Admiral Sir Julian Oswald, First Sea Lord and Chief of the Naval Staff, 59; Miss Jean Parker, actress, 80; Lord Poole, former chairman, Conservative Party Organisation, 81; Sir Michael Quinlan, director, Ditchley Foundation, 62; General Sir Charles Richardson, former Chief Royal Engineer, 84; Dame Angela Rumbold MP, deputy chairman of the Conservative Party, 60; Mr Thomas Taaffe, racehorse trainer, 59; The Right Rev James Thompson, Bishop of Bath and Wells, 56; Lord Varley, chairman, Coalite, and former MP, 60.