Click to follow
The Independent Online
Mr Desi Arnez Jnr, actor, 42; Mr Peter Atkinson MP, 52; Miss Nina Bawden, novelist, 70; Mr Dewey Bunnell, rock singer and guitarist, 44; The Earl of Carnarvon, honorary racing manager to the Queen, 71; Sir Jonathan Clarke, former circuit judge, 65

; Mr Michael Crawford, actor and singer, 53; Mr Bernard Dunstan, painter, 75; Mr Stefan Edberg, tennis player, 29; Mr Rod Evans, rock singer, 50; Mr Phil Everly, rock singer, 56; Lord Glentoran, former Lord-Lieutenant, Belfast, 83; Mr Walter Goldsmith, chairman, Betterware, 57; Mr William Hayden, former chairman and chief executive, Jaguar, 66; Miss Patricia Highsmith, writer, 74; Mr Hans Hotter, bass baritone, 86; Sir Alex Jarratt, former chairman, Smiths Industries, 71; Mr Richard Lester, film directo r, 63; Brigadier Helen Meechie, former director of the WRAC, 57; Mr David Newbigging, chairman, Rentokil, 61; Mr Nigel Nicolson, author and former MP, 78; Mr Robert Palmer, rock singer and guitarist, 46; Miss Dolly Parton, country music singer, 49; Senor Javier Perez de Cuellar, former Secretary-General of the UN, 75; Mr Bryan Pringle, actor, 60; Sir Simon Rattle, orchestral conductor, 40; Mr Charles Smith, managing director, Chevron UK, 65; Sir John Stanley MP, 53; Dr Herbert Sumsion, organist and comp oser, 96; Mr Dennis Taylor, snooker player, 46; Mr David Tredennick MP, 45; The Earl of Wemyss and March, former president, the National Trust for Scotland, 83.