Click to follow
Mr David Astor, former chairman, Council for the Protection of Rural England, 51; Mr Ernest Beaumont, former chairman, Bunzl, 73; Sir Philip Beck, chairman, John Mowlem, 60; Mr Mervyn Bourdillon, Lord-Lieutenant of Powys, 70; The Right Rev Colin Buchanan, former Bishop of Aston, 60; Professor Elizabeth Cutter, botanist, 65; Mr Tam Dalyell MP, 62; Baroness Denington, former teacher and journalist, 87; Capt Colin Farquharson of Whitehouse, Lord-Lieutenant of Aberdeenshire, 71; Sir Alistair Hunter, Consul-General and

Director-General of Trade, New York, 58; Sir Christophor Laidlaw, former chairman, Bridon, 72; Mr Rod Laver, tennis player, 56; Sir Frank Layfield QC, 73; Mr James Naughtie, broadcaster, 43; Dr David VandeLinde, Vice-Chancellor, Bath University, 52; Sir Mark Weinberg, chairman, J. Rothschild Assurance, 63; Maj- Gen Sir Christopher Welby- Everard, 85; Mr Julian Wellesley, chairman, East Sussex Health Authority, 61; Lord Young of Dartington, Director, Institute of Community Studies, 79.