Church appointments

Click to follow
The Ven John Saxbee, Archdeacon of Ludlow and a Prebend of Hereford Cathedral, to be Suffragan Bishop of Ludlow, diocese Hereford (succeeding the Right Rev Ian Griggs, who has retired). He will continue to be Archdeacon of Ludlow, combining this with his role as Bishop Suffragan.

The Rev Dr Rod Anderson, Vicar, Cottingley (soon to be Vicar, Heaton, St Barnabas) and Rural Dean of Airedale: to be also an Honorary Canon of Bradford Cathedral (Bradford).

Canon William Andrew, Communications Director of the Bible Society and Honorary Assistant Curate, the Lydiards Team (Ministry (Bristol): to be part- time Communications Consultant of the Bible Society and part-time Assistant Curate (Parish Administrator), the Lydiards Team Ministry, same diocese.

The Rev Ian Booth, Curate, Holy Trinity, Hawley (Guildford): to be Vicar, St Mary's, Willesden (London).

The Rev Christopher Channer, Vicar, Langton Green: to be Chaplain at Holmeswood House School (Rochester).

The Rev Frank Chappell, Vicar, Dacre with Hartwith and Darley with Thornthwaite: to be also Assistant Rural Dean of Ripon (Ripon).

The Rev Celia Chapman, non-stipendiary minister, Bilston Team Ministry: now also Chaplain, St Peter's Collegiate School, Wolverhampton (Lichfield).

The Rev Nicholas Charrington, Chaplain at St Luke's Hospice, Plymouth, and Assistant Curate, Plymstock parish church (Exeter): to be Priest- in-charge, St Ruthen, Longden; Christ Church, Annscroft; St Edith, Pulverbatch (Hereford).

The Rev Ernest Childs, Hon Curate, St Peter's, West Lynn: to be non-stipendiary Priest-in-charge, St Peter's, West Lynn (Ely).

The Rev Brendan Clover, Dean of Emmanuel College, Cambridge (Ely): to be Priest-in-charge, St Pancras New Church, Euston Road (London).

The Rev Stephen Conway, Diocesan Director of Ordinands and Honorary Assistant Curate, St Margaret, Durham (Durham): to be Priest-in-charge, St Mary, Cockerton, same diocese.

The Rev Ken Dagger, Assistant Curate, St Anne, Rainhill: to be Team Vicar St James, Maghull (Liverpool).

The Rev David Daley, Assistant Curate, Christ Church, Cockfosters: to be Vicar, St Cuthbert's, Chitts Hill, Wood Green (London).

The Rev Paul Dawson, Vicar, St Philip, Westbrook: to be Personal Chaplain to the Bishop of Liverpool (Liverpool).

The Rev John Elford, Pro Rector, St Katharine's College of Higher Education: to be also Canon Theologian of Liverpool Cathedral (Liverpool).

The Rev Marion Humphries: to be Assistant Curate, Cayton with Eastfield (York).

The Rev Ron Jackson, Bishop's Officer for Parish Mission and Development (Bradford): to be also an Honorary Canon of Bradford Cathedral.

The Rev Gary Jenkins, Curate, St Luke, Norwood: to be Priest-in-charge, St Peter, St Helier (Southwark).

Canon Ian Knox, Director of Education and Residentiary Canon of Wakefield Cathedral (Wakefield): to be also Director of Ecumenical Affairs, same diocese.

The Ven Howard Levett, Archdeacon, diocese Egypt: to be Vicar, St Alban the Martyr, Holborn (London).

The Rev Rachel Lewis, Chaplain, Trinity College, Carmarthen, Dyfed: to be Assistant Curate, Yatton Keynell with Biddestone with Slaughterford and Castle Combe, West Kington and Nettleton (Bristol).

The Rev David Littlefair, Warden and Chaplain of Lee Abbey International Students Club: to be Vicar, Malmesbury with Westport and Brokenborough (Bristol).

The Rev David Male, Assistant Curate, St Christopher's, Leicester (Leicester): to be Assistant Curate, Kirkheaton (Wakefield).

The Rev Jeremy Pemberton, Vicar, Irchester (Peterborough): to be Priest-in-charge, Bourn and Kingston with Caxton and Longstowe (Ely).

The Rev John Read, Rector, Earsham, Alburgh and Denton (local ecumenical parish): to be also Priest- in-charge, Ditchingham with Pirnough, Hedenham, and Broome (Norwich).

The Rev John Simpson, Curate, Immingham (Lincoln): to be Priest-in-charge, Ramsey St. Mary and Upwood, in the Ramsey Team Ministry (Ely).

The Rev Calvin Ward, Vicar, Allerton: to be also an Honorary Canon of Bradford Cathedral (Bradford).

The Rev Robert Whitehouse, Curate, St Leonard's, Sheffield (Sheffield): to be Priest-in-charge, St Philip the Apostle, Birchencliffe, and Diocesan Youth Officer and Bishop's Chaplain for Youth (Wakefield).


The Rev Jeremy Bunting, Vicar, St Jude-on-the-Hill, Hampstead Garden Suburb (London): to resign as from 5 April.

The Rev Graham Drake, Rector, Buxton with Oxnead, Lammas and Brampton, Rural Dean of Ingworth (Norwich): to resign as Rural Dean as from 31 March.

The Rev Donald Humphries, Vicar, Holy Trinity, Cambridge (Ely): to retire as from 24 April.

The Rev Robin Jeffree, Vicar, Ryston with Roxham and West Dereham (Ely): to retire as from 15 February.

The Rev Stephen Moseling, Vicar, St Matthias, Colindale (London): to resign as from 22 February.

The Rev Desmond Tucker, Priest-in-charge, St Michael the Archangel on the Mount Without (Bristol): to retire as from 6 March.


Mrs Elaine Appelbee, Mrs Pam Aston, Mrs Astrid Hansen, Mr Tony Hesselwood, Dr Philip Lewis, and Mr Jeremy Mackrell: appointed Lay Canons of Bradford Cathedral (the first such appointments).

Mrs Margaret Laird (Third Church Estates Commissioner), and Mr Brian Hanson (Legal Adviser and Registrar to the General Synod): elected Governors of Pusey House, Oxford.