Church appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The Rev Raymond Furnell, Provost of the Cathedral Church of St James, Bury St Edmunds, to be Dean of York, succeeding the Very Rev John Southgate.

The Rev Tim Barker, Vicar, Runcorn All Saints and Diocesan Communications Officer, Chester: to be Bishop's Chaplain and continue as Diocesan Communications Officer (Chester).

The Rev Peter Bradley, Vicar, Holy Spirit, Dovecot: to be Team Rector, St Thomas, Upholland (Liverpool).

The Rev Jeff Clegg, Vicar, Good Shepherd, West Derby, to be Vicar, St Catharine, Wigan (Liverpool).

The Rev Cynthia Dowdle, Assistant Curate, All Hallows, Allerton: to be Team Rector, St Mary, Halewood (Liverpool).

The Rev Simon Foster, Curate of Glyncorrawg with Afan Vale and Cymmer Afan (Llandaff): to be Rector, Breedon-on-the-Hill with Isley Walton and Worthington with Newbold and Griffydam (Leicester).

The Rev Jeremy Haselock, Diocesan Worship Adviser and Vicar, Boxgrove: to be also a Canon of Chichester Cathedral (Chichester).

The Rev Martin Hogan, Vicar, Great Broughton and Broughton Moor (Carlisle): to be Vicar, St Stithian's with Perranarworthal and Gwennap (Truro).

The Rev Roger Howell, Rector, Purley: to be also Rural Dean of Bradfield (Oxford).

The Rev Robert Hutchings, Assistant Priest NSM, Newtown Linford: to be Assistant Priest NSM, Husbands Bosworth with Mowsley and Knaptoft and Theddingworth (Leicester).

The Rev Michael Insley, Vicar, Wadhurst and Tidebrook: to be also a Canon of Chichester Cathedral (Chichester).

The Rev John Lyon, Curate, Chichester St Paul & St Peter the Great: to be Rector, Earnley with East Wittering (Chichester).

The Rev Richard Masshedar, Vicar, St Andrew's, Leam Lane, Co Durham: to be priest-in-charge, St Paul's, Hartlepool (Durham).

The Rev Colin Midlane, priest counsellor, St Botolph Aldgate (London): to be Team Vicar, Haywards Heath Good Shepherd (Chichester).

The Rev Michael Nevill, Chaplain to the Forces: to be Team Vicar, Broadwater St Stephen (Chichester).

The Rev David Powe, Chaplain, HMP Belmarsh (Southwark): now Chaplain, HMP Lewes (Chichester).

The Rev Eric Royden, Vicar, New Brighton All Saints (Chester): to retire as Vicar on 31 January 1995, but continue as NSM priest-in-charge.

The Rev Stanley Swift, Rector, Upminster, St Laurence: to be also Priest-in-charge, North Ockenden (Chelmsford).

The Rev Alan Turner, Team Rector, Sileby, Cossington & Seagrave (Leicester): to be Rector, Hollington St Leonard (Chichester).

The Rev Nora Sanders to be Assistant Curate (NSM), St Mary Magdalene, Tanworth in Arden (Birmingham).

The Rev Sister Hilary SSF to be Assistant Curate (NSM), Holy Trinity, Birchfield (Birmingham).


The Rev Ashley Beck, Curate-in-charge, St Matthew, Camberwell (Southwark): to retire as from 30 June.

The Rev William Cox, non-stipendiary Priest-in-Charge, North Hill and Lewannick (Truro): to retire as from 30 September.

The Rev John Eastgate, Vicar, Hughenden (Oxford): to retire as from 18 June.

The Rev Maurice Horsey, Rector, St Thomas, Woolwich (Southwark): to retire as from 31 August.

The Rev Leslie Howitt, Vicar, Shobnall St Aidan (Lichfield): to retire as from 31 July.

The Rev Brenda Jenner, Parish Deacon, Christ the Saviour, Leicester (Leicester): to resign as from 11 August.

Canon Anthony Martin, Vicar, Bowden (Chester): to retire as from 1 September.

Canon Robin Osborne, Canon Treasurer of Truro Cathedral: to retire as from 31 August.

The Rev Graham Preston, Vicar, St Hilda, Crofton Park (Southwark): to resign as from 31 July.

The Rev Canon Peter Southwell-Sander, Director of Ministry, Chelmsford Diocese: to resign on 31 May when he will be appointed Canon Emeritus of Chelmsford Cathedral and Public Preacher in Chelmsford Diocese.

The Rev Terence Treanor, Chaplain of Oakham School (Peterborough): to resign as from 2 July.

The Rev Phillip Wright, Vicar, South Kirkby (Wakefield): resigned as from April.

The Rev Stanley Young, Vicar, Long Crendon (Oxford): to retire as from 31 May.


Mrs Carmen Franklin: to be Bishop's Adviser on Black Concerns (Diocese of Sheffield).