Church appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The following appointments have been announced by the Church of England:

The Rev Albert Cadmore, Honorary Curate, St Andrew Gorleston: to be also Priest-in-charge, West Somerton and Horsey and Honorary Curate of Winterton with East Somerton, (Norwich).

The Rev Adam Carlill, Curate, Romford St Edward (Chelmsford): to be Curate, Uckfield (Chichester).

The Rev Peter Clegg, Priest-in-Charge, Portslade Good Shepherd: to be Vicar, Portslade, Good Shepherd (Chichester).

The Rev Peter Gascoigne, Rector, Thumscoe St Helen, Rotherham: to be Vicar, New Rossington, St Luke, Doncaster (Sheffield).

The Rev Noelle Hall, Curate, Reculver and Heme Bay St Bartholomew and Diocesan Adviser in Women's Ministry: to be Assistant Director of Post Ordination Training, Canterbury Diocese.

The Rev Valerie Hewetson, Assistant Curate, St Nicholas, Kingston Upon Hull: to be Vicar, Barmby Moor with Allerthorpe, Fangfoss and Yapham (York).

The Rev Philip Ireson, Vicar of the Marshland Parishes: to be Rector of Firbeck with Letwell (Sheffield).

The Rev Hugh McCurdy, Vicar, Histon: to be also Rural Dean of North Stowe (Ely).

The Rev Penelope Martin, Assistant Curate, Sherburn with Pittington: to be also assistant curate, St Cuthbert, Shadforth (Durham).

The Rev Heather Matthews, Priest-in-charge of Blagdon with Ubley and Compton Martin: to be Rector, Blagdon with Ubley and Compton Martin (Bath and Wells).

The Rev John Mantle, Vice-Principal, Canterbury School of Ministry and Curate, Boxley with Detling (Canterbury): to be Diocesan Adviser for Education and Training of Adults (Chichester).

The Rev Alan Milne, Curate, Hartlepool St Luke: to be Priest-in-charge, parishes of Dalton-le-Dale with Hawthom (Durham).

The Rev Graham Owen to be Curate, Wiveliscombe (Bath and Wells).

The Rev Leslie Pinfield to be Curate, St Mary and St John's, Bathwick (Bath and Wells).

The Rev David Pollard, Priest-in-charge Sidlesham: to be Rector, Petworth and Rector, Egdean (Chichester).

The Rev Michael Roden, Curate St Mary the Virgin, St Cross and St Peter-in-the-East and Chaplain, Wadham College, Oxford: to be Rector, Steeple Aston with North Aston and Tackley (Oxford).

The Rev Derek Ryder, Team Rector, Wexcombe Team Ministry and Rural Dean of Pewsey Salisbury): to continue as Rural Dean of Pewsey for a further five years.

The Rev J. Peter Saunt, Vicar, Bratton: to be Priest-in-charge, Oldbury Group Ministry (Salisbury).

The Rev Richard Snow, Curate, Preston Plucknett: to be also responsible for Yeovil Hospital Chaplaincy during interregnum (Bath and Wells).

The Rev Tim Storey to be Curate St John's, Weston, Bath (Bath and Wells).

Canon Vincent Strudwick, Principal, Oxford Ministry Course (Oxford): to be Principal of the Oxford and St Albans Ministry Course.

The Rev Hilary Thomas to be Curate, St John's, Yeovil (Bath and Wells).

The Rev Timothy Thompson, Vicar, St Oswald Coney Hill (Gloucester): to be Priest-in-charge of Caister-on-Sea and Caister West (Norwich).

The Rev Peter Tullett to be Curate, Worle (Bath and Wells).

The Rev Richard Tulloch, Assistant Minister, Jesmond Parish Church (Newcastle): to be Vicar, Wimborne St John (New Borough and Leigh St John) (Salisbury).

The Rev Andrew Vessey, Vicar, Catshill and Dodford: to be Priest-in-charge of Areley Kings (Worcester).

The Rev Alan Walker, Chaplain, University of Westminster: to be Vicar, St Jude, Hampstead Garden Suburb (London).

The Rev William Williams, Vicar, Hemsby: to be also Priest-in-charge of Winterton with East Somerton (Norwich).


The Rev Fred Belcher, NSM Charminster and Stinsford (Salisbury): resigned 31 July.

The Rev Frank Blanchard, Rector, Stockton-on- the-Forest with Holtby and Warthill (York): to retire as from 31 October and take up a retirement post in the diocese of Argyll and the Isles.

The Rev David Box, Rector, Childe Okeford, Okeford Fitzpaine, Manston, Hammoon and Hanford (Salisbury): retired 31 August.

Canon Francis Doe, Curate, Stansted (and Forestside): to retire as from 30 September, remaining as assistant to Archdeacon of Horsham with permission to officiate (Chichester).

Canon Peter Garlick, Team Rector, Duston (Peterborough): to retire as from 31 October 1994.

The Rev David Haz1ehurst, Rector, St Nicholas, Sutton (Southwark): to retire as from 31 October.

Canon Ted Kelly, Team Rector, The Trinity, Trowbridge Team Ministry (Salisbury): retired 31 August.

Canon Richard Meyer, Rector, Odcombe, Brympton, Lufton and Montacute (Bath and Wells): resigned 31 August.

The Rev Alan Rogers, Vicar, St George, Enfield (London): to resign as from 31 January.

The Rev John Sladden, Vicar, St James, Doncaster (Sheffield): to resign as from 6 November.