Church appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The following appointments have been announced by the Church of England:

The Rev Francis Ballinger, Team Vicar, St Andrew's, Melksham (Salisbury): to be Diocesan Rural Adviser and Priest-in-charge, Coughton with Spernall, Morton Bagot and Oldberrow (Coventry).

The Rev Michael Braithwaite, Vicar, Lorton and Loweswater with Buttermere: to be also Leader of the newly formed Rural Life and Agriculture Team (Carlisle).

The Rev Colin Beavers, Curate, Ledbury and Eastnor: to be Priest-in-charge, St Michael, Bockleton; St Andrew, Leysters; St James the Great, Kimbolton; Hamnish; St Mary the Virgin, Middleton-on-the-Hill (Hereford).

The Rev Alison Bowman, Parish Deacon, Peacehaven: to be also Chaplain to the Bishop of Lewis (Chichester).

The Rev Paul Beacher, Assistant Curate, St John, Sparkhill: to be Priest-in-charge, St Richard, Lea Hall (Birmingham).

The Rev Anthony Bradley, Associate Minister, Holy Trinity, Coventry, with a special remit to develop Warwickshire's Christian Training Programme: to be Diocesan Lay Training Adviser, and continues as Associate Minister, Holy Trinity, Coventry (Coventry).

The Rev Peter Browne, Curate, Southgate (London): to be Assistant Curate (NSM), Brighton St Mary the Virgin (Chichester).

The Rev Peter Burch, Rector, Ashurst, and Vicar, Steyning (Chichester): to be also Honorary Canon, Bauchi (Nigeria).

The Rev Mark Burgess, Priest-in-charge, St Paul's, Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia: to be Priest-in-charge, Coreley; Doddington; St Paul's, Knowbury (Hereford).

The Rev Christopher Davidson, Director of Education (Norwich): to be Priest-in-charge, Whixley with Green Hammerton, and RE Adviser, Ripon and Harrogate deaneries (Ripon).

The Rev Greville Cross, Vicar, Inkberrow with Cookhill, Kingston with Dormston: to be also Rural Dean of Evesham (Worcester).

The Rev William Doyle: to be Curate, Hangleton (Chichester).

The Rev Ian Forrester, Chaplain, Lancing College (Chichester): to be also Commissary to the Bishop of Southern Malawi.

Canon David Grice, Rector, Seacroft Team Ministry, Vicar-in-charge of St James, Seacroft: to be Priest-in-charge, Thorner (Ripon).

Canon David Gutsell, Vicar, Patcham All Saints: to be Vicar, Polegate (Chichester).

The Rev Brian Gwinn, Industrial Chaplain, diocese St Albans: to be also Rural Dean of Hatfield, same diocese.

The Rev Martin Harper, Curate, St Leonards- on-Sea, Christ Church and St Mary Magdalen: to be also Chaplain to the Bishop of Lewis (Chichester).

The Rev Paul Harris, Team Vicar, Holy Trinity, Cheltenham (Gloucester): to be Vicar, Bitterne (Winchester).

Canon Richard Hems, Rector, Framingham Earl, Poringland with Howe, and an Honorary Canon of Norwich Cathedral: to be Priest- in-charge, Bixley (Norwich).

The Rev Martin Henwood, Curate, St Martin- in-the-Fields (London) to be Vicar, Holy Trinity, Dartford (Rochester).

The Rev Jeremy Horton, Vicar, Wortley de Leeds: to be Vicar, St Mary, Middleton, and remains Assistant Rural Dean of Armley (Ripon).

The Rev Michael Marshall, Vicar, St Alban, Streatham Park: to be also Rural Dean of Tooting (Southwark).

The Rev Roger Matthews, Curate, Great Baddow Team Ministry: to be Priest-in-charge, Chigwell Row, All Saints (Chelmsford).

The Rev James Newcome, Priest-in-charge, Bar Hill: to be also Rural Dean of North Stowe (Ely).

The Rev Stephen Normanton, a Methodist Minister in the Penrith circuit and responsible for eight rural churches: to be also a member of the newly formed Rural Life and Agriculture Team (Carlisle archdeaconry).

The Rev Paul O'Gorman, Rector, Northiam: to be Vicar, Hastings Emmanuel and St Mary-in- the Castle (Chichester).

The Rev George Pendleton, Industrial Chaplain with the South Humberside Industrial Mission (Lincoln): to be Assistant Curate, Conisbrough (Sheffield).

The Rev Christine Rhodes, non-stipendiary minister Weobley: to be non-stipendiary Chaplain's Assistant in the Hereford Hospitals (Hereford).

The Rev Alan Shaw, Curate, Beeston, Leeds: to be Curate, St Thomas, Stanningley, and Curate- in-charge, Swinnow (Ripon).

The Rev Peter Swain, Priest-in-charge Bromfield with Waverton and Westnewton: to be also a member of the newly formed Rural Life and Agriculture Team, working in the West Cumberland Archdeaconry - West Cumbria (diocese Carlisle).

The Rev Peter Trendall, Team Rector, Walthamstow, St Mary in the Walthamstow Team Ministry: to be Priest-in-charge, Chigwell, St Mary (Chelmsford).

The Rev Tristan Thomas, Vicar, Halliwell, St Margaret (Manchester): to be Vicar, Bromton by Sawdon with Snainton, Ebberston and Allerston (York).

The Rev Brian Tyler, now Curate (NSM) Brighton the Resurrection (Chichester).

The Rev Dennis Vickers, non-stipendiary minister, St John Baptist, Stokesay: to be non- stipendiary minister, Wigmore Abbey group of parishes (Hereford).


The Rev Desmond Burke, Vicar, Glaisdale (York); to resign as from 31 May.

The Rev Deryck Markham, Vicar, East Budleigh with Bicton (Exeter): to retire as from 31 August.