Church appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The following appointments have been announced by the Church of England:

The Ven Norman Crowder, Archdeacon of Portsmouth, diocese Portsmouth, to retire as from 30 November.

The Rev Graeme Knowles, Vicar, St Francis, Leigh Park, diocese Portsmouth, to be Archdeacon of Portsmouth.

Canon Andrew Babington, Rector, Blandford Forum and Langton Long: to be a Canon Emeritus of Salisbury Cathedral on his retirement, 30 September.

The Rev David Bond, Vicar, Wistow and Rural Dean of Selby (York): to be Priest-in-charge, Northiam (Chichester).

The Rev Stephen Chaloner, Rector, Binstead and Vicar, Havenstreet, Isle of Wight: to be also Rural Dean of East Wight for a further year (Portsmouth).

The Right Rev Tony Dumper, Suffragan Bishop of Dudley (Worcester): whose retirement has been announced: to be Honorary Assistant Bishop in the diocese of Birmingham.

The Rev Susan Fernando: already appointed Chaplain at the Grove School, Hindhead (Guildford).

The Rev David Herbert, Team Vicar, Ellesmere Port Team Ministry: to be Vicar, St Andrew's, Tarvin (Chester).

The Rev Stephen James, Assistant Rector, St John's, Shaughnessy, Vancouver (British Columbia, Canada): to be Rector, St Andrew, Bebington (Chester).

The Rev Malcolm King, Team Rector, Cove: to be also Rural Dean of Aldershot (Guildford).

The Rev Peter Lawrence, Vicar, Christ Church, Burney Lane (Birmingham): to be Team Vicar, Canford Magna Team Ministry (Salisbury).

The Rev Dermot McKavanagh, formerly Staff Chaplain to the Chaplain-in-Chief, RAF, Surrey: to be Chaplain RAF Lyneham and Vicar, Lyneham with Bradenstoke (Salisbury).

The Rev Dr Andrew Norman, Vicar, St Michael and All Angels, Tenterden (Canterbury): to be Rector, St Nicolas, Guildford (Guildford).

The Rev Alan Payne, Rector, Stanningley: to be Rector, Kippax with Allerton Bywater Team Ministry, and remaining also Assistant Officer for Local Ministry (Ripon).

The Rev Dr Alvyn Pettersen, Chaplain, Fellow and Tutor of Theology, Exeter College, Oxford: to be Vicar, St Mary, Frensham (Guildford).

The Rev Duncan Reed, Vicar, Benfieldside: to be Priest-in-charge, Whickham (Durham).

The Rev Alan Sessford, Vicar, Burton and Sopley: to be also Rural Dean of Christchurch (Winchester).

The Rev Mary Stokes, Assistant Curate, Pheasey (Lichfield): to be Assistant Curate, St Mary, Walton on Thames (Guildford).

Canon John Townroe, non-residentiary Canon, Salisbury Cathedral: was appointed a Canon Emeritus of Salisbury Cathedral on retirement, 31 May 1993.

The Rev Nicholas von Benson, permission to officiate, Lewes Episcopal area: now NSM Assistant to the Rural Dean of Dallington (Chichester).

The Rev Stephen Waine, a Minor Canon and Succentor of St Paul's Cathedral (London): to be Vicar, Romford, St Edward (Chelmsford).

The Rev Ian Watts, Assistant Curate, St Bridget, West Kirby: to be Vicar, St Thomas, High Lane (Chester).

The Rev Robert Watts, Assistant Curate, Partington with Carrington: to be Priest-in-charge, Christ Church, Tintwistle (Chester).

The Rev Stein West-Lindell, Rector, Orlestone with Snave and Ruckinge with Warehorne (Canterbury): to be Rector, Byfield with Boddington and Aston le Walls (Peterborough).

The Rev Canon Dr Derek Whitehead, Director, Diocesan Board of Education (Chichester): to be also Priest-in-charge (NSM), Fletching (Chichester).

The Rev Roger Wild, Vicar, Holy Trinity, Ripon: to be Rector, Barwick-in-Elmet with Scholes (Ripon).

The Rev Peris Williams, Vicar, St Hildeburgh, Hoylake: to be Rector, Holy Trinity, Blacon (Chester).

The Rev Oliver Woodman, permission to officiate, Lewes Episcopal area: now Assistant (NSM) to the Rural Dean of Eastbourne (Chichester).

The following appointments have been announced by the Church of Scotland:

The Rev Robert JM Anderson to Carmunnock, Glasgow.

The Rev Robert MH Boyd to the West Kirk, Dumbarton.

The Rev Douglas Clark to Belhelvie.

The Rev Richard J. Hammond to Saline and Blairingone.

The Rev Mark E. Johnstone to Westpark, Denny.

The Rev James E. Lyall to North Newmill and Boharm, Keith.

The Rev Freda Marshall to Kirtle-Eaglesfield with Middlebie with Waterbeck.

The Rev Gary J. McIntyre to Kingarth and Kilchattan Bay with the High Kirk, Rothesay.

The Rev Robert A. Mackenzie to Burnhead, Uddingston.

The Rev Lily F. McKinnon to South Shawlands, Glasgow.

The Rev Gilbert C. Nisbet to St Monance with Largoward.

The Rev Malcolm Rooney to Kirriemuir Old.

The Rev Isabel H. Whyte, part-time Chaplain to District General Hospital, Dunfermline.

The Rev Iain M. Greenshields from Cranhill, Glasgow to St Machan's, Larkhall.

The Rev David McInnes from Gardner Street, Glasgow to Kilmuir and Paible.


The Rev Alan B Forrest, Uphall South Parish Church, West Lothian.

The following ordinations have been announced by the Scottish Episcopal Church:

Mr Robert Brian Anker Peterson Deacon in St Ninian's Cathedral, Perth, to serve as Assistant Curate at St Ninian's.

The Rev Dale Armitage Gray of St John's Cathedral, Oban, to continue to serve as chaplain.

Miss Anne Tomlinson Deacon, to take up a non-stipendiary ministry in the diocese and The Rev John Cuthbert, priest, to continue to serve as Curate of St Mary's Cathedral.

The Rev Johnathan Mason, Priest.

Mr Martin Peter Callaghan, to be Assistant Curate at Holy Trinity, Ayr.

Mr John Bain Penman, to be Assistant Curate at St Ninian's, Pollokshields.

The Rev Mark Alexander Scott Goodman, Assistant Curate at St Lawrence, Denton, in the Manchester Diocese, to become Rector at St Mary's, Dalkeith, and St Leonard, Lasswade.

The Rev Edmund Marquis Faulkes, assistant Curate of St Mary's, Broughty Ferry, Priest-in-charge of St Ninian's, Dundee.

Canon John Woodley serving at Holy Name, Cumbernauld, to move to Christ Church, Dalbeattie.

The Rev Brian Owen, Rector at St Aidan's, Clarkston, to move to Dunblane as Warden at Scottish Churches House.

The Rev Terence Morley, Priest-in-Charge, St John's, Coatbridge, to move to the parish of Ham in the Exeter Diocese in mid-July.

Canon Kenneth Stephen, leaves Holy Trinity, Motherwell, to move to Holy Trinity, Kilmarnock.


The Rev CBR Preston-Thomas, Rector of Holy Trinity, Pitlochry, and St Adamnan's, Kilmaveonaig.

Canon David Main, to retire from Holy Trinity in Kilmarnock in October.

The Rev Joan and Rev Geoffrey Bacon to retire from Christ Church, Dalbeattie, where they served as Deacon and Rector.

The Rev David Jelly begins a post retiral ministry at St Margaret's, New Galloway. The Rev Joseph Banks retired as Rector of St Margaret's, New Galloway.

The Rev Joseph Banks retired as Rector of St Margaret's, New Galloway, and has moved to Cupar in the Diocese of St Andrews.