Church appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The following appointments have been announced by the Church of England:

The Rev Douglas Andrews, Curate, Swindon New Town Team Ministry: to be Team Vicar, Swindon New Town Team Ministry (Bristol).

Canon Ivan Bailey, Priest-in-charge, Kirby Bedon and Bixley: to be Mental Health Chaplain for the Norwich Health Authority (Norwich).

The Rev Peter Bradford, Curate, Andover (St Mary) with Foxcott: to be Vicar, East Worldham and West Worldham with Hartley Mauditt and Kinqsley with Oakhanger (Winchester).

The Rev Julia Butterworth, Curate, Faversham and Diocesan Adviser in Women's Ministry (Canterbury): to be Team Vicar, Whitstable, St Andrew's, same diocese.

The Rev Geoffrey Catchpole, Priest-in-charge, Bradwell-on-Sea, St Thomas with St Lawrence: to be Vicar, Holland-on-Sea (Chelmsford).

The Rev Christopher Chapman, Vicar, Hopton with Corton: to be Priest-in-charge, Loddon with Sisland LEP (Norwich).

The Rev Arthur Deegan, Assistant Priest, Melton Great Framland: to be Team Vicar, Melton Great Framland (Leicester).

The Rev Dennis Donald, Warden, Blaithwaite Christian Centre, Wigton: to be also Chaplain of Eden Valley Hospice, Carlisle (Carlisle).

The Rev Christopher Duncan, Vicar, Chilham: to be also Rural Dean of West Bridge (Canterbury).

The Rev Kathryn Fitzsimons, Curate (NSM), St John's, Bilton: to be also Richmond Archdeaconry Development Worker, South (Ripon).

The Rev Patrick Goodsell, Vicar, Sellindge with Monks Horton and Stowting and Lympne with West Hythe: to be Vicar, Nonington, St Mary the Virgin with Wymenswold, St Margaret and Goodnestone, Holy Cross with Chillenden, All Saints, and Knowlton, St Clement (Canterbury).

The Rev Peter Howard, Vicar, Stanley (Wakefield): to be Priest-in-Charge, St Francis, Heartsease, Norwich (Norwich).

The Rev Paul Haworth, Team Vicar, Waltham Abbey Team Ministry: to be Team Rector, Becontree South Team Ministry (Chelmsford).

The Rev Roger Jackson, Assistant Curate, St John the Evangelist, Hale (Guildford): to be Vicar, St Michael and All Angels with St Catherine, Barton with Peel Green (Manchester).

The Rev Elaine Jones, Parish Deacon, Holy Trinity, Tottenham: to be Parish Deacon, St John and St Luke, Enfield (London).

The Rev Robert Jones, Vicar, Hutton Cranswick with Skerne, Watton and Beswick: to be also Rural Dean of Harthill (York).

Canon Christopher Lewis, Team Rector, Whitstable Team Ministry: to be also Rural Dean of Reculver (Canterbury).

The Rev Thomas Lynds, Priest-in-charge, Rainham with South Hornchurch with Wennington: to be the incumbent of Rainham with Wennington in the new group ministry of Rainham with Wennington, South Hornchurch, St John and St Matthew (Chelmsford).

The Rev Derek Mathers, Team Vicar, Almondbury Team Ministry: to be Vicar, Marsden St Bartholomew (Wakefield).

The Rev Simon May, Curate, Tamworth (Lichfield): to be Vicar, Whitchurch (Exeter).

The Rev Verna Morgan, Parish Deacon, St Martin's, Potternewton (Ripon) to be Parish Deacon, St Luke's, Longsite (Manchester).

The Rev Michael Porter, Curate, Rainham: to be Priest-in-charge, South Hornchurch, St John and St Matthew (Chelmsford).

The Rev Colin Preece, Vicar, Kennington: to be also Rural Dean of East Charing (Canterbury).

The Rev Christopher Pullin, Vicar, New Eltham All Saints (Southwark): to be Vicar, St John in Bedwardine, Worcester (Worcester).

The Rev John Record, Vicar, Hawkhurst: to be reappointed Rural Dean of West Charing (Canterbury) for a second term of three years.

The Rev Michael Smith, Curate, St Mary, Ilkeston: to be Team Vicar, Wirksworth Team Ministry (Derby).

The Rev Donald Stevenson, Assistant Curate, Priory Church, Great Malvern (Worchester): to be Chaplain, Bedford School (St Albans).

The Rev Rachel Stowe, Bishop's Officer for non-stipendiary ministry, Assistant Director of Ordinands, and Assistant Curate, The Stodden Churches (St Albans): to be also an Honorary Canon of St Albans Cathedral, same diocese.

The Rev John Suddards, Assistant Curate, Halstead: to be Priest-in-charge, Great and Little Yeldham, Tilbury-juxta-Clare and Stambourne with Toppesfield (Chelmsford).

The Rev Frank Sudworth, Vicar, Christ Church, Upper Armley: to be also Rural Dean of Armley (Ripon).

The Rev Cherry Vann, Parish Deacon, St Michael, Flixton: to be Chaplain to the Bolton Institute of Higher Education, and Bolton Metropolitan College of Further Education (Manchester).

The Rev David Vince, Assistant Priest, St Giles, Cripplegate with St Bartholomew, Moor Lane (London): to be Rector, Salwarpe and Hindlip with Martin Hussingtree (Worcester).

The Rev John Walker, Team Vicar, The Street Team Ministry: to be Rector, Dunnington, and to continue as a part-time Archdeaconry Training Officer (York).

The Rev Graham Weir, Assistant Curate (NSM), St Mary's, High Crompton, Shaw: to be Assistant Curate (NSM), St Mark's, Heyside, Royton, (Manchester).

Canon Grant Welch, Curate, Loughton, St John: to be Team Rector, Loughton Team Ministry (Chelmsford).

The Rev Peter Whittaker, Vicar, Leighton Buzzard with Egginton, Hockliffe and Billington, and Rector-designate, Barton-le-Cley with Higham Gobion and Hexton: to be also an Honorary Canon of St Albans Cathedral (St Albans).

The Rev Michael Whittock, Rector, Methley (Ripon): to be Vicar, Morley St Peter (Wakefield).

The Rev David Wheeler, Curate, Hythe (Canterbury): to be Curate, Knaresborough (Ripon).

The Rev Roger White, formerly Rector, Brinklow and Harborough Magna, and Vicar, Monks Kirby with Stretton-under-Fosse (Coventry): to be Priest-in-charge, St Anne, Lydgate with Christ Church, Friezland (Manchester).

The Rev Geoffrey Wrayford, Vicar, Minehead: to be also part-time Chaplain to Minehead Hospital (Bath and Wells).


The Rev Kenneth Bastock, Vicar, Orton-on- the-Hill with Twycross and Norton-juxta- Twycross (Leicester): to retire as from 31 August.

The following appointments have been announced by the Church of Scotland:

Induction: The Rev Alan Greig, to Kintore. Ordination and Induction: The Rev John W. Knox, to Macainsh, Lochgelly. Auxiliary Ministers Ordained: The Rev Marion LK Howie, to Ardrossan Park.

Retirements: The Rev Alexander C. Barr, from St Nicholas Cardonald, Glasgow; The Rev RA Montgomery, from Quarrier's Village, Mount Zion; The Rev Alan HS Taylor, from Brydekirk with Hoddam; The Rev James M. Thomson, from West Kirk, Dumbarton.