Church appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The Rev Dr Laurence Green, Rector, Poplar, diocese London, to be Suffragan Bishop of Bradwell, diocese Chelmsford, in succession to the Right Rev Derek Bond, who retired at the end of August.

Canon Peter Elliott, Vicar, Embleton with Rennington and Rock, and Rural Dean of Alnwick: to be Archdeacon of Northumberland, diocese Newcastle, in succession to the Ven William Thomas, who is retiring this month.

The Rev Paul Baird, Curate, Chandler's Ford: to be Vicar, Hythe (Winchester).

The Rev Paul Baker, Curate, Hartlepool, St Aidan: to be Team Vicar, Jarrow Team Ministry (Durham).

The Rev Hugh Bearn, Assistant Curate, Christ Church, Heaton (Manchester): to be Chaplain to HM Forces (RAF).

The Rev Margaret Bettis, Assistant Curate, Flitwick: to be Minister for Westoning and Tingrith (St Albans).

The Rev Harry Callaghan, Vicar, St John the Evangelist, Top o' the Moss, Bolton (Manchester): to be also an Honorary Canon of the Episcopal diocese of Massachusetts, USA.

The Rev Brian Cassidy, Curate, Lymington: to be Priest-in-charge, Hyde (Winchester).

The Rev Christopher Elliott, Rector, Sible Hedingham: to be Vicar, Leigh-on-Sea, St Aidan (Chelmsford).

The Rev Charles Gorton, Curate, William Temple Church, Wythenshawe: to be Curate, the Apostles, Manchester and St Cuthbert's, Miles Platting (Manchester).

The Rev Dr Margaret Guite, non-stipendiary minister, St Mary's, Ely: to be Team Minister, Huntingdon Team Ministry (Ely).

The Rev Richard Haigh, Vicar, Unsworth: to be Rector, Brough with Stainmore, Musgrave and Warcop (Carlisle).

The Rev David Hall, Vicar, Holy Saviour, Hitchin (St Albans) already appointed Vicar, St Laurence, Bidford-on-Avon, in the Bidford Group Ministry (Coventry).

The Rev David Hassell, non-stipendiary minister, Worcester South East Team Ministry: to be Curate, Abberton, Naunton Beauchamp and Bishampton with Throckmorton (Worcester).

The Rev Robert Inder, Vicar, Sinnington (York): retired as from 30 November.

The Rev Noel McConachie, Curate, Larkfield and Leybourne: to be Rector, Mereworth with West Peckham (Rochester).

The Rev Olwyn Sibbald, Parish Deacon, St Martin, Wythenshawe: to be Parish Deacon, St John the Divine, Brooklands (Manchester).

The Rev Howard Smith, Vicar, St Ann, Belfield: to be Vicar, St Thomas, Leesfield (Manchester).

The Rev Susan Staff, Parish Deacon, All Saints, Mickleover (Derby): to be Parish Deacon, St William, Walderslade, Chatham (Rochester).

The Rev Andrew Walker, Senior Curate, St John's Wood (London): to be Vicar, St Peter, Streatham (Southwark).

The Rev Paul Welch, Priest-in-charge, Clungunford St Cuthbert with Clunbury and Clunton, Bedstone and Hopton Castle (Hereford): to be Vicar, All Saints, Wellingborough (Peterborough).

The Rev Don Witts, Assistant Curate, and minister in charge, St Mary and St Peter, Staines (London): to be Churches Officer for Economic and Social Affairs in the Bolton area (Manchester).

Canon Roger Williams, Rector, Shipston-on- Stour and an Honorary Canon of Coventry Cathedral: already appointed Rector, Lighthorne with Chesterton and Newbold Pacey with Moreton Morrell (Coventry).


The Rev Gerald Brough, Vicar, Bourton with Frankton and Stretton-on-Dunsmore with Princethorpe (Coventry): to retire as from 31 January 1993.

The Rev Bernard Harris, Vicar, Sedgley All Saints (Lichfield): to retire as from 31 January 1993.

The Rev Graham Lynch-Watson, Vicar, St Paul's, Warwick (Coventry): retired as from 31 August.

The Rev Don Philpott, Vicar, St Mary Magdalene, Lillington (Coventry): retired as from 31 October.

The Rev Derrick Tooby, Vicar, St Andrew's, Eastern Green, Coventry (Coventry): retired as from 30 October.

Canon Desmond Treanor, Rector, Great Bowden, with Welham, Glooston and Cranoe (Leicester): to retire as from 30 April 1993 (resigning as Rural Dean of Gartree I as from 31 March 1993)