Court Circular


12 March: The Prince Edward, President, the Lord's Taverners, this morning received the Chairman (Mr Brian Baldock) at Buckingham Palace.

His Royal Highness this evening visited the Ballooning Event 'Night Glow' in support of Comic Relief Red Nose Day, Hyde Park, London W1.

The Prince Edward later visited the volunteers in British Telecom Tower, 16 Cleveland Street, London W1.

His Royal Highness finally met participants and volunteers of the 'Night of Comic Relief' programme, BBC Television Centre, Wood Lane, London W12, and was received by the Chairman of Charity Projects (Mr Paul Jackson).

Lieutenant-Colonel Sean O'Dwyer was in attendance.


12 March: The Prince of Wales this morning visited the London Clinic, 20 Devonshire Place, London W1.

Miss Belinda Harley was in attendance.

His Royal Highness, President, the Royal Naval Film Corporation, later embarked in HMS Marlborough and attended the Annual General Meeting and Luncheon (Commander Peter Eberle RN).

Commander Robert Fraser RN was in attendance.


12 March: The Duchess of Gloucester was represented by Mrs Michael Wigley (Lady-in- Waiting) at a Service of Thanksgiving for the life of Sir John Prideaux (President, Iris Fund for Prevention of Blindness) which was held at Southwark Cathedral, London SE1.

High Sheriffs

The Queen has pricked the names of the following to serve as High Sheriffs in England and Wales for the year 1993:

ENGLAND (except Cornwall, Greater Manchester, Merseyside and Lancashire)

Avon: Hylton Henry Bayntun-Coward; Bedfordshire: Eric Dudley Fountain; Berkshire: Major Toby Clements Gore; Buckinghamshire: David Vereker Palmer; Cambridgeshire: Elizabeth Anne, The Hon Lady Hastings; Cheshire: The Hon Richard Henry Cornwall-Leigh; Cleveland: David Manners; Cumbria: Margaret Washington; Derbyshire: Rupert Hereward Turner; Devon: Sir John Dennis Boles; Dorset: Richard Guy Grosvenor de Pelet; Durham: Desmond Walker; East Sussex: Andrew Kerr Stewart- Roberts; Essex: Christopher Spencer Gosling; Gloucestershire: Charles Granville Moray Lloyd-Baker; Greater London: Anthony Charles Everett; Hampshire: Christopher Nevil Wilson; Hereford and Worcester: Stephen John Anthony Webb; Hertfordshire: Frank Edward Harvey; Humberside: Peter William Barker; Isle of Wight: David Brian Barrie Cheverton; Kent: The Hon Robin Charles Denison-Pender; Leicestershire: Robin Hylton Murray-Philipson; Lincolnshire: Anthony George Jarvis; Norfolk: Robert Edmond Buscall; Northamptonshire: John George Church; Northumberland: Roger Errington; North Yorkshire: Michael David Abrahams; Nottinghamshire: Juliet Lilias Mortensen; Oxfordshire: Sir David Black; Shropshire: Capt Roger Michael Gabb; Somerset: The Hon John Hedworth Jolliffe; South Yorkshire: Christopher Shelley Barker; Staffordshire: Charles Herbert Mitchell; Suffolk: Major Carol James Hay Gurney; Surrey: Rear- Admiral Sir Peter Anson; Tyne and Wear: Sir David Robert MacGowan Chapman; Warwickshire: Donald Charles Wasdell; West Midlands: John Ian Westwood; West Sussex: Richard Harry Goring; West Yorkshire: Geoffrey Flockton Armitage; Wiltshire: Lt-Gen Sir Maurice Johnston.


Clwyd: Philip Caulfield Godsal; Dyfed: Rosemary Rooney; Gwent: Simon Hugh Patrick Boyle; Gwynedd: Sir Richard Williams-Bulkeley; Mid-Glamorgan: Barbara Magdalene Ladbrooke; Powys: Capt Andrew James Gibson- Watt; South Glamorgan: Commander John Mascall Darby Curteis; West Glamorgan: Alan Charles Frederick Aylesbury.

Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

iJobs Job Widget
iJobs People

Business Support - Banking - Halifax - £250 pd

£150 - £250 per day: Orgtel: HR Analyst - Banking - HR - Halifax - £150 - £250...

Geography Teacher

£24000 - £33600 per annum + pre 12 week AWR : Randstad Education Manchester Se...

Marketing Executive

£28000 - £32000 per annum: Charter Selection: A professional services company ...

Day In a Page

Noel Fielding's 'Luxury Comedy': A land of the outright bizarre

Noel Fielding's 'Luxury Comedy'

A land of the outright bizarre
What are the worst 'Word Crimes'?

What are the worst 'Word Crimes'?

‘Weird Al’ Yankovic's latest video is an ode to good grammar. But what do The Independent’s experts think he’s missed out?
Can Secret Cinema sell 80,000 'Back to the Future' tickets?

The worst kept secret in cinema

A cult movie event aims to immerse audiences of 80,000 in ‘Back to the Future’. But has it lost its magic?
Facebook: The new hatched, matched and dispatched

The new hatched, matched and dispatched

Family events used to be marked in the personal columns. But now Facebook has usurped the ‘Births, Deaths and Marriages’ announcements
Why do we have blood types?

Are you my type?

All of us have one but probably never wondered why. Yet even now, a century after blood types were discovered, it’s a matter of debate what they’re for
Honesty box hotels: You decide how much you pay

Honesty box hotels

Five hotels in Paris now allow guests to pay only what they think their stay was worth. It seems fraught with financial risk, but the honesty policy has its benefit
Commonwealth Games 2014: Why weight of pressure rests easy on Michael Jamieson’s shoulders

Michael Jamieson: Why weight of pressure rests easy on his shoulders

The Scottish swimmer is ready for ‘the biggest race of my life’ at the Commonwealth Games
Some are reformed drug addicts. Some are single mums. All are on benefits. But now these so-called 'scroungers’ are fighting back

The 'scroungers’ fight back

The welfare claimants battling to alter stereotypes
Amazing video shows Nasa 'flame extinguishment experiment' in action

Fireballs in space

Amazing video shows Nasa's 'flame extinguishment experiment' in action
A Bible for billionaires

A Bible for billionaires

Find out why America's richest men are reading John Brookes
Paranoid parenting is on the rise - and our children are suffering because of it

Paranoid parenting is on the rise

And our children are suffering because of it
For sale: Island where the Magna Carta was sealed

Magna Carta Island goes on sale

Yours for a cool £4m
Phone hacking scandal special report: The slide into crime at the 'News of the World'

The hacker's tale: the slide into crime at the 'News of the World'

Glenn Mulcaire was jailed for six months for intercepting phone messages. James Hanning tells his story in a new book. This is an extract
We flinch, but there are degrees of paedophilia

We flinch, but there are degrees of paedophilia

Child abusers are not all the same, yet the idea of treating them differently in relation to the severity of their crimes has somehow become controversial
The truth about conspiracy theories is that some require considering

The truth about conspiracy theories is that some require considering

For instance, did Isis kill the Israeli teenagers to trigger a war, asks Patrick Cockburn