Welcome to the new Independent website. We hope you enjoy it and we value your feedback. Please contact us here.


Institute of Physics

The following have been elected to Fellowship of the Institute of Physics:

Professor Michael Bode, Liverpool Polytechnic; Dr Jean Boulton, British Aerospace plc; Dr Peter Butler, Liverpool University; Dr John Connor, AEA Fusion, Culham Laboratory; Dr Anthony Cullis, Defence Research Agency; Professor John Darby, Napier Polytechnic of Edinburgh; Dr Brian Foster, Liverpool University; Dr Harold Harper, National Power plc; Professor Azharul Islam, Rajshahi University, Bangladesh; Dr Ian Kenyon, Birmingham University; Dr Peter Main, York University; Dr Paul Murdin, Royal Observatory, Edinburgh; Professor Ryoji Ohba, Hokkaido University, Japan; Pofessor Robert Owens, Glasgow University; Mr Philip Rogers, Pilkington PE Ltd; Professor Svein Sigmond, Trondheim University, Norway; Dr Roy Taylor, Umist; Dr Richard Tuck, Thorn Microwave Devices Ltd.