Memorial services: Lord Cheshire

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The Queen was represented by Lord Moore of Wolvercote at a memorial mass to celebrate the life and work of Gp Capt Lord Cheshire which was held yesterday at Westminster Cathedral, London SW1. The Duke of Edinburgh was represented by Canon George Hall, the Prince and Princess of Wales by Mr Peter Holland, The Duke of York by Capt Rupert Maitland-Titterton, Prince Edward by Mrs Richard Warburton, The Princess Royal by the Hon Mrs Louloudis, The Queen Mother by Sir Alastair Aird, Princess Margaret by Major The Lord Napier and Ettrick, Princess Alice, Duchess of Gloucester, and The Duke and Duchess of Gloucester by Lt-Col Sir Simon Bland, The Duke and Duchess of Kent by the Marquess of Lothian, and Princess Alexandra by The Hon Sir Angus Ogilvy. The Prime Minister was represented by Mr Richard Ryder MP.

The Archbishop of Westminster, Cardinal Basil Hume, was the celebrant and gave the homily. Lady Ryder of Warsaw (widow) read the prayer 'Usque ad Mortem', and General Sir Geoffrey Howlett, Chairman, Leonard Cheshire Foundation, read the prayer of St Ignatius. Mr Christopher Cheshire (brother) gave the first reading (Wisdom v:16-17) and Mr Stephen Ryder the second (Corinthians I xiii:1-3). The Right Rev Alan Clark, Bishop of East Anglia, read The Gospel (John vi:51-58). Among those present were:

The Hon Elizabeth Cheshire, daughter; Mrs Christopher Cheshire, sister-in-law; Mr and Mrs Tim Cheshire, nephew and wife; Mr and Mrs D. McArthur, niece and husband; Mrs Stephen Ryder, Dr and Mrs Michael Ryder, Dr John Ryder (brothers-in-law and wives).

Field Marshal Lord Bramall, Lord-Lieutenant of Greater London, and Lady Bramall; Sir Joshua Rowley, Lord-Lieutenant of Suffolk; Princess Margaret of Hesse and the Rhine.

The Duke of Norfolk; Earl and Countess Ferrers; Lord Ashbourne; Lord Ashley of Stoke; Lord Callaghan of Cardiff; Lord Elton; Lord Fitt; Lord and Lady Hunt of Tanworth; Lord Kagan; Baroness Masham of Ilton (Countess of Swinton); The Bishop of Fulham.

Mr David Alton MP; Mr Cranley Onslow MP and Lady June Onslow; Mrs Anne Winterton MP; Mr Alf Morris MP; Mrs Emma Nicholson MP; Sir Geoffrey Pattie MP (Vice-President, Leonard Cheshire Foundation).

The Polish Ambassador, Mr M. Tadeusz de Virion; The Russian Ambassador, Mr Boris Pankin; Mr Bruce Knoefel (First Secretary, representing the South African Ambassador).

Marshal of the RAF Sir Michael Beetham, (President, Bomber Command Assocation); Marshal of the RAF Lord Craig; Air Chief Marshal Sir Roger Palin; Air Vice-Marshal AJC Bagnall. Air Vice-Marshal T. Garden; Mr J. Stewart (Ministry of Defence); Wing Cdr PB Lucas (249 Squadron Association); Flt Lt WG Day (4 group Bomber Command Association); Mr JB Hughes, Mr G. Dennes, Flt Lt E. Smith (Pathfinders Association); W/O James Davis (Air Gunners Association) and Mrs Davis; Mr R. Collins (RAF Association) and Mrs Collins; Air Chief Marshal Sir Thomas Kennedy (Retd) (RAF Benevolent Fund).

Mr Hugh Woodcock (Headmaster, Dragon School, Oxford), Mr Edward Hudson and Mr Alistair Cook (Dragon School); Sir Michael and Lady Quinlan (representing the Warden and Fellows and the Merton Society, Merton College, Oxford); Sir William Mars-Jones (Gray's Inn); Mr TSC Busby (Royal British Legion, south-east area) and Mrs Busby; The Rev Robert Clifton (Chairman) and Councillors and other representatives (Sue Ryder Foundation); Brigadier JC Clinch (Radio Amateur Invalid and Blind Club); Mrs Chowdharay Best (Alert); Mr JAH Curry (Club Chairman), Mr John Cook, Mr David Godfree, Mr BE Hutchins, Mr NK Haugh, Mr and Mrs R. Hadingham, Air Chief Marshal Sir Brian Burnett (Past Chairman) and Lady Burnett, Air Vice-Marshal EL Frith (All-England Lawn Tennis Association); Dr and Mrs James Hanratty (Help the Hospices); Mrs A. Harrison (Scoliosis Association); Mr Peter Cardy (Motor Neurone Disease Association); Rear-Admiral Sir Godfrey Place (Chairman, VC and GC Association); Sir Edward Ford (Secretary and Registrar, Order of Merit); Dr Alan Borg (Director General, Imperial War Museum), Dr Noble Frankland (past Director, Imperial War Museum); Mr Richard Zyga, Mr A. Pilch; Mr and Mrs Nosek (Special Operations Executive, Polish Section); Mrs Odette Hallowes (Special Operations Executive) and Mr Geoffrey Hallowes; Mr JH Else (Dunkirk Veterans Association); Mr Robert Kandt (World Memorial Fund for Disaster Relief); The Hon Sir Peter Ramsbotham (Chairman, Ryder-Cheshire Foundation - UK) and Lady Ramsbotham; Mr Martin Shaw (representing Lord Wedgwood); Mr James Stanford (Director General, Leonard Cheshire Foundation); Mr and Mrs WJ Sullivan (Leaders) and other representatives (Ryder-Cheshire Raphael/Lourdes Pilgrimage Group); Lt-Gen JS Aurora (India); Maj-Gen V. Singh (India); Mr Rajiv Bhandari; Justice and Mrs Allagoa (Nigeria); Maj-Gen R. Bakhehi (Director Ryder-Cheshire Centre Raphael, India); Mr Stanley Lai (Singapore).

(Photograph omitted)