Hockney joins Britain's most exclusive club with Order of Merit

Queen bestows honour reserved for elite 24 on pop art pioneer who once turned down knighthood

The Queen has welcomed the celebrated artist David Hockney into one of the most exclusive clubs in Britain, making him one of just 24 members of the Order of Merit.

Buckingham Palace announced yesterday that the 74-year-old Yorkshireman had been awarded what is regarded as "the UK's highest honour". This comes just weeks before a major show of his new work is due to open at the Royal Academy in London. He declined to comment yesterday other than to say: "It's nice to know they are not prejudiced against the older smoker."

Martin Gayford, author of A Bigger Message: Conversations with David Hockney, said: "This is a fitting award. He is certainly among Britain's finest painters." He described Hockney as "a hugely naturally talented painter and draughtsman". Hockney, at the forefront of the British pop art movement in the 1960s and whose works include A Bigger Splash, has become a member of the Order despite refusing an knighthood in 1990, although he later accepted the Companion of Honour.

He joins the playwright Sir Tom Stoppard, Baroness Thatcher and the broadcaster Sir David Attenborough as members of the Order of Merit, a little known but hugely prestigious award bestowed by the Queen without ministerial advice. It is presented to individuals of great achievement in the fields of arts, learning, literature, science and other areas of public service.

Past recipients include Sir Winston Churchill and Florence Nightingale. The Order of Merit was created by King Edward VII in 1902. Recipients are awarded a red and blue enamel badge, which reads, "For Merit". They also have their portrait painted for the Royal Collection and attend a dinner with the Queen every five years.

In full: the other 23

John Howard (politician)
Sir Andrew Huxley (physiologist)
Baroness Thatcher
Lord Foster (architect)
Sir Anthony Caro (sculptor)
Sir Tom Stoppard (playwright)
Sir David Attenborough
Lady Boothroyd (former Commons speaker)
Sir Tim Berners-Lee (internet pioneer)
Prince of Wales
Duke of Edinburgh
Dr Frederick Sanger (biochemist)
Jean Chretien (politician)
Neil MacGregor
Lord Rothschild (banker)
Robert McCredie (scientist)
Lord Rees (astrophysicist)
Sir Aaron Klug (chemist)
Owen Chadwick (historian)
Sir Michael Atiyah and Sir Roger Penrose (mathematicians)
Sir Michael Howard (historian)
Lord Eames (Reverend).

Start your day with The Independent, sign up for daily news emails
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

iJobs Job Widget
iJobs People

Recruitment Genius: HR Manager

£25000 - £30000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: They are in need of a HR Manage...

h2 Recruit Ltd: Business Development Manager - HR Consultancy - £65,000 OTE

£35000 - £40000 per annum + £65,000 OTE: h2 Recruit Ltd: London, Birmingham, M...

Day In a Page

Homeless Veterans appeal: 'You look for someone who's an inspiration and try to be like them'

Homeless Veterans appeal

In 2010, Sgt Gary Jamieson stepped on an IED in Afghanistan and lost his legs and an arm. He reveals what, and who, helped him to make a remarkable recovery
Could cannabis oil reverse the effects of cancer?

Could cannabis oil reverse effects of cancer?

As a film following six patients receiving the controversial treatment is released, Kate Hilpern uncovers a very slippery issue
The Interview movie review: You can't see Seth Rogen and James Franco's Kim Jong Un assassination film, but you can read about it here

The Interview movie review

You can't see Seth Rogen and James Franco's Kim Jong Un assassination film, but you can read about it here
Serial mania has propelled podcasts into the cultural mainstream

How podcasts became mainstream

People have consumed gripping armchair investigation Serial with a relish typically reserved for box-set binges
Jesus Christ has become an unlikely pin-up for hipster marketing companies

Jesus Christ has become an unlikely pin-up

Kevin Lee Light, aka "Jesus", is the newest client of creative agency Mother while rival agency Anomaly has launched Sexy Jesus, depicting the Messiah in a series of Athena-style poses
Rosetta space mission voted most important scientific breakthrough of 2014

A memorable year for science – if not for mice

The most important scientific breakthroughs of 2014
Christmas cocktails to make you merry: From eggnog to Brown Betty and Rum Bumpo

Christmas cocktails to make you merry

Mulled wine is an essential seasonal treat. But now drinkers are rediscovering other traditional festive tipples. Angela Clutton raises a glass to Christmas cocktails
5 best activity trackers

Fitness technology: 5 best activity trackers

Up the ante in your regimen and change the habits of a lifetime with this wearable tech
Paul Scholes column: It's a little-known fact, but I have played one of the seven dwarves

Paul Scholes column

It's a little-known fact, but I have played one of the seven dwarves
Fifa's travelling circus once again steals limelight from real stars

Fifa's travelling circus once again steals limelight from real stars

Club World Cup kicked into the long grass by the continued farce surrounding Blatter, Garcia, Russia and Qatar
Frank Warren column: 2014 – boxing is back and winning new fans

Frank Warren: Boxing is back and winning new fans

2014 proves it's now one of sport's biggest hitters again
Jeb Bush vs Hillary Clinton: The power dynamics of the two first families

Jeb Bush vs Hillary Clinton

Karen Tumulty explores the power dynamics of the two first families
Stockholm is rivalling Silicon Valley with a hotbed of technology start-ups

Stockholm is rivalling Silicon Valley

The Swedish capital is home to two of the most popular video games in the world, as well as thousands of technology start-ups worth hundreds of millions of pounds – and it's all happened since 2009
Did Japanese workers really get their symbols mixed up and display Santa on a crucifix?

Crucified Santa: Urban myth refuses to die

The story goes that Japanese store workers created a life-size effigy of a smiling "Father Kurisumasu" attached to a facsimile of Our Lord's final instrument of torture
Jennifer Saunders and Kate Moss join David Walliams on set for TV adaptation of The Boy in the Dress

The Boy in the Dress: On set with the stars

Walliams' story about a boy who goes to school in a dress will be shown this Christmas