Welcome to the new Independent website. We hope you enjoy it and we value your feedback. Please contact us here.


Nelson Mandela’s memorial: The ultimate who's who A-Z

The ultimate list of dignitaries who turned out – alongside thousands of other cheering supporters – to celebrate the life of the leader

Nelson Mandela’s memorial service saw the largest gathering of world leaders in recent history descend upon Johannesberg to pay their respects to the former South African President today.

Here’s the ultimate A-Z list of dignitaries who turned out – alongside thousands of other cheering supporters – to celebrate the life of the leader.


Afghan President Hamid Karzai

Angolan Vice President Manuel Vincent

Argentinian Acting President Amado Boudou

Australian Prime Minister Tony Abbott


Bahamas' Prime Minister Perry Christie

Bangladesh's President Abdul Hamid

Belgian Prime Minister Elio di Rupo and King Philippe

Benin's President Boni Yayi

Botswana's President Seretse Ian Khama

Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff and three predecessors

British Prime Minister David Cameron, deputy PM Nick Clegg and former Prime Minister Tony Blair

Burundi's President Pierre Nkurunziza


Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper and three predecessors

Chadian President Idriss Deby

Chinese Vice President Li Yuanchao

Comoros' President Ikiliou Dhoinine

Congo's President Joseph Kabila

Croatian President Ivo Josipovic

Cuban President Raul Castro

Czech Foreign Minister Jan Kohout

Nelson Mandela’s memorial service saw the largest gathering of world leaders in recent history descend upon Johannesberg



Danish Prime Minister Helle Thorning-Schmidt and Prince Frederik

Djibouti's President Ismail Omar Guelleh


East Timor's Prime Minister Xanana Gusmao

El Salvador's Foreign Minister Jaime Miranda

Equatorial Guinea's President Obiang Nguema Mbasogo

Ethiopia's Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn

European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso

European Union Council President Herman Van Rompuy


Finnish President Sauli Niinisto

French President Francois Hollande and his predecessor Nicolas Sarkozy


Gabon's President Ali Bongo Ondimba

Gambian President Yahya Jammeh

German President Joachim Gauck

Ghana's President John Dramani Mahama

Guinean President Alpha Conde

Guyana's President Donald Ramotar


Haitian President Michel Martelly and Prime Minister Laurent Lamothe

The President and Danish PM Helle Thorning-Schmidt post-selfie



Indian President Pranab Mukherjee and Congress party leader Sonia Ghandi

Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif

Irish President Michael Higgins

Italian Prime Minister Enrico Letta

Ivory Coast's President Allasane Ouattara


Jamaica's Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller

Japan's Crown Prince Naruhito and former Prime Minister Yasuo Fukuda

Jordanian Queen Rania and Prime Minister Abdullah Ensour


Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta


Lebanese caretaker Prime Minister Najib Mikati

Lesotho's Prime Minister Thomas Thabane

Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf


Malawi's President Joyce Banda

Malaysian Energy Minister Maximus Ongkili

Mauritius' Prime Minister Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz

Mexican President Pena Nieto

Morocco's Prince Moulay Rachid

Mozambique's President Armando Emilio Guebuza


Namibian President Hifikepunye Pohamba

Nepalese Foreign Minister Madhav Prassad Ghimire

The Netherlands' Foreign Minister Frans Timmermans and King Willem-Alexander

Niger's President Mahamadou Issoufou

Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan

Norwegian Prime Minister Erna Solberg and Crown Prince Haakon


Pakistan's President Mamnoon Hussain

Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas

Philippines' Vice President Jejomar Binay

Polish Foreign Minister Radek Sikorski and former President Lech Walesa  Portuguese President Cavaco Silva

Former French President Nicolas Sarkozy and the Afghan President Hamid Karzai



Saudi-Arabia's Deputy Prime Minister Muqrin bin Abdulaziz Al Saud

Senegalese President Macky Sall

Serbian President Tomislav Nicolic

Seychelles President James Michel

Slovak Foreign Minister Miroslav Lajcak

Slovenia's President Borut Pahor

South Korean Prime Minister Hongwon Chung

South Sudan's President Salva Kir Mayardi

Spanish Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy and Prince Felipe

Sri Lanka's President Mahinda Rajapaksa

Sudanese Vice President Bakri Hassan Salih

Suriname's President Desire Delan Bouterse

Swaziland's Prime Minister Sibusiso Barnabas Dlamini

Swedish Prime Minister Fredrik Reinfeldt and Princess Victoria

Swiss President Ulrich Maurer


Tanzanian President Jakaya Kikwete

Trinidad and Tobago's Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar

Tunisian President Moncef Marzouki


Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni

U.N. Human Rights Commissioner Navi Pillay

U.N. Secretary General Ban Ki-moon and his predecessor Kofi Annan

U.S. President Barack Obama and first lady Michelle Obama as well as former presidents George W. Bush, Jimmy Carter, Bill Clinton and his wife Hillary

Uruguay's Foreign Minister Luis Almagro


Vatican official Cardinal Peter Turkson of Ghana

Venezuela's President Nicolas Maduro


Zambia's President Michael Sata

Zimbabwean President Robert Mugabe