Royal College of Pathologists

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The following have been admitted as Honorary Fellows to the Royal College of Pathologists:

Lord Walton of Detchant; Dr Jonathan W. Miller; Professor W. Miller; Professor Wataru Mori; Dr Jean Shanks; Professor Lewis Thomas.

Royal College of

Physicians of London

The following have been admitted as Fellows of the Royal College of Physicians: Honorary Fellow: Professor Alec Jeffreys, FRS, Leicester. Under special bye-laws: Dr Jean Aicardi, Paris; Professor Willis Maddrey, President of the American College of Physicians; Professor Michel Manciaux, Chevalier de la Legion d'Honneur, Nancy, France; Professor Jean Rey, Paris; Professor Marvin Sleisenger, California, USA.

Institution of

Mechanical Engineers

The following have been elected Fellows of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers and are permitted to use the designation FIMechE:

Dr C. Arcoumanis, London; Mr CB Ash, Merseyside; Mr CP Boocock, Derby; Air Commodore I. Brackenbury, Harrogate; Professor CA Brebbia, Southampton; Mr GK Burns, Cumbria; Mr CIJ Charles, Surrey; Mr BL Clementson, Doncaster; Eur Ing KE Cleminson, Surrey; Mr BS Dhillon, Slough; Dr JS Fleming, Glasgow; Dr CG Floyd, Middlesex; Mr MD Gates, West Midlands; Mr GE Geeson, Kent; Mr RJ Gostling, Chesterfield; Eur Ing JG Hall, Buckinghamshire; Mr BDP Halligan, Woking; Mr J. Harnor, Surrey; Mr JH Heywood, New Zealand; Mr PJ Howells, Tamworth; Mr PG Hurford, Middlesex; Mr AJ Jacques, Derby; Mr RA Law, Cheadle, Cheshire; Mr B. Leightell, Rochdale; Ms M. Lord, London; Mr MJ Martin, Surrey; Mr TR Millar, Belfast; Dr A. Mitcheson, Ilkley; Mr TR Moore, Cheshire; Mr DJ Pawling, Bath; Mr S. Rajeswaran, Surrey; Mr AB Reed, Surrey; Mr KJ Rutherford, Kent; Mr NA Salmon, Cheshire; Mr C. Seabrook, East Yorkshire; Mr DJ Shepherd, Macclesfield; Mr G. Singh, Berkshire; Dr R. Sivalingam, Canada; Dr EM Smith, Dundee; Mr T. Swift, USA; PAM Thomas, Wiltshire; Mr DJ Tompkins, Middlesex; Dr BJ Walker, Oxfordshire; Mr B. Wraith, Sheffield.

Royal National

Lifeboat Institution

The following have been presented with medals for bravery by the Royal National Lifeboat Institution:

John Pearson, Helmsman, Whitby, North Yorkshire (Bronze); Hewitt Clark, Coxswain Mechanic, Lerwick, Shetland (Bronze); Peter Bisson, Coxswain, St Peter Port, Channel Islands (Silver); Roderick James, Helmsman, Hayling Island, Hampshire (Silver); Frank Dunster, Crew member, Hayling Island (Silver).

Iris Fund Award

The second Iris Fund Award, in memory of Sir John Prideaux, late president of the Iris Fund for Prevention of Blindness, has been awarded jointly to Mr David Garty (Moorfields Eye Hospital) and Mr Peng Khaw (Institute of Ophthalmology).