Welcome to the new Independent website. We hope you enjoy it and we value your feedback. Please contact us here.

Royal Scottish Geographical Society

The Royal Scottish Geographical Society has announced the following annual awards of Medals and Fellowships for 1993:

Scottish Geographical Medal: Professor Peter Haggett, Department of Geography, Bristol University. Livingstone Medal: Dr Martin Holdgate, Director General, IUCM - the World Conservation Union. Mungo Park Medal: Professor David Sugden, Department of Geography, Edinburgh University. Centenary Medal: Professor Peter Odell, Director, Centre for International Energy Studies, Erasmus University, Rotterdam. President's Award: Dr Guy Robinson, BSc, Department of Geography, Edinburgh University. Fellowships of the Society: Mr John C. Bartholomew, Retiring President, RSGS; Mr Ken Collins, Chairman, European Parliament's Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Consumer Protection; Miss Jean Forbes, Director, Graduate School of Environmental Studies, Strathclyde University; Mr Michael Palin, actor, traveller and author; Professor Gavin McCrone, formerly Chief Economic Adviser, Scottish Office.

Institute of Logistics

The following have been granted fellowship of the Institute of Logistics:

Mr Spencer James Colvin, managing director, Hays Specialist Distribution Limited; Mr Timothy Leigh Gordon, group distribution director, T & S Stores plc; Lt-Gen Dharam Vir Kalra, Indian Army Ordnance Corps; Mr Jan Szymankiewicz, director, PE International.