Service appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Air Marshal Sir Richard Johns, to be Air Officer Commanding-in- Chief, Strike Command and Commander Air Forces Northwest Europe, in the rank of Air Chief Marshal. This appointment carries with it membership of the Air Force Board of the Defence Council.

Air Vice-Marshal JS Allison, to be Chief of Staff and Deputy Commander-in-Chief, Strike Command, in the rank of Air Marshal.


Commanders: MB Avery - Staff of FOSM Northwood; A. Croke - Exchange USA; DR Morgan - Nato Belgium; AFM Taylor - Saclant USA.

Majors: MG Wimpenny - JSDC Greenwich.

Retirements: Capt R. Yeomans; Commander AJ Bolingbroke; Commander DC Rowley; Commander TJK Sloane; Commander BH Wood.


Colonels: ADA Duncan - to Staff Coll; RA Stewart - to SHAPE Staff (BAE).

Lieutenant-Colonels: P St JL Baxter R Irish - to be CO 1 R Irish; J. Longland RLC - to be CO 157 Tpt Regt; JW Morgan RLC - to HQ BAOR/HQ BRSC; DP Richards RA - to MOD; PS Robertshaw REME - to MOD.

Retirements: Brigadier ECW Morrison Late RH; Col AJ Hawkes Late RADC.


Group Captains: DJ Salusbury - to HQSTC; DM Davison - to MOD; K. Edwards - to HQSTC.

Wing Commanders: GC Daffarn - to HQ UKAIR (Chf Pol & Prog); SA Gibson RAF Staff C Bracknell; RW Henry - to 120 Sqn Kinloss; FA Huddleston - to 241 OCU Brize Norton; BR Neal - to JS Def Coll Greenwich; PR Ollis - to No101 Sqn Brize Norton; DR Richardson - to TPMRAFH AKROTIRI; S. Wood - RAF Staff C Bracknell; TJ Wood - to MOD PE D/Flying; OD Wright - to MOD ACDS OR (Air).