Service Appointments

Commodore M. R. Thomas, to be promoted Rear-Admiral and to be President of the Ordnance Board, in succession to Maj-Gen CRS Notley.

Capt J. P. Clarke, to be promoted Rear-Admiral and to be Flag Officer Training and Recruiting.



Captains: AJH Burbridge - MOD Bath; TD Elliott - Staff of CINCFLEET; GBD Lane - Marlborough in Cmd; TP McClement - MOD London; PJ Melson - Tamar.

Surgeon Captains: Lt-Col PL Bancroft - RMB Stonehouse.

Commanders: S. Bramley - Northumberland in Cmd; SP Carnt - Staff of 2SL/CINCNAVHOME; WM Covington - Illustrious; NHL Harris - Staff of 2SL/CINCNAVHOME; NJ Hillier - Staff of CINCFLEET; MWG Kerr - Chatham in Cmd; RN Lucey - MOD London; GR Philpott - BDS Washington; JBM Rees - Staff of 26L/CNH; DM Swain - RAF Turnhouse; AK Tatham - Sultan; DRD Teer - Argyll in Cmd; B. Wallis - MOD Bath.

Majors: SV Balm - HQRM; IW Grant - RMB Stonehouse.

Retirements: Capt GRG Middleton; Commander HDM Pound.


Brigadiers: DA Cranston - to Multi National Div; JJ Gaskell - to be Comd HQ 42 (NW) BDE; JB Palmer - to be Comdt HQ REME Trg Gp; AEG Truluck.

Colonels: MHH Brooke - to HQ Cdo Fcs RM; ATB Kimber - to MOD; PDP McQueen - to HQ ARRC.

Lieutenant-Colonel: DF Davies AGC (SPS) - to AGC Trg Cen; JL Goodridge WG - to MOD; EJ Gould RTR - to Shape Staff (BAE); AD Hall REME - to SEME; L. Henderson RAMC - to BMH Rinteln - DC McKemp R Signals - to Sch of Sigs; MJ Lock AGC (SPS) - to HQ UKLF; IM Ross RLC - to HQ NEDIST R & L Staff; JM Ross R Signals - to MOD; TS Spicer SG - to CATC; SJ Tetlow REME - to be Co AMF (L) Cbt Svc Sup Regt; JBC Prescott R Anglian - to FG & IMRO (N); MJ Walker AGC (SPS) - MOD.

Retirements: Brigadier R. Macdonald Late RE; Col AGH Curtis Late RRF; Col AR Jones Late RTR; GP Jones Late REME; Col AJ Pinion Late RA; Col PJ Williams Late RE.


Group Captains: DC Andrews - to HQ STC; BJ Bate - to MOD; NA Buckland - to MOD; CM Chambers - to Indian NDC; SJ Colwill - to MOD; PJ Brindle - to MOD; JP Dacre - to HQ STC; MJ Gardiner - to HQ 38 GP; JW Hollowood - to MOD; RD Iredale - to MOD Cossec; GT Keigh - to SHAPE; JA King - to RAF Benson; NM MacLeod - to MOD; MT Phillips - to Staff C Bracknell; DA Ray - to RAF Valley; PBM Richards - to SAP Riyadh; NJ Sudborough - to RAF Leuchars; DB Symes - to RAF Lyneham; AH Vaughan - to MOD; GJ Woodley - to MOD.

Wing Commander: RC Owen - to MOD ACDS (JNT SYST); PD Rawson - to SM (STC)56 (RAF); GS Clayton-Jones - to D of R&S (RAF); HW Price - to HQ 3rd USAF LO's; PR Dixon - to UAS London; RK Gault - to 30 Sqn Lyneham; SW Exton - to HQSTC; AD Connarty - to Sch of Fighter Control; EA Harris - to RAF Boulmer; A. Ware - to HQ 18 Gp; AB Wight-Boycott - to MOD AFD/D Air Off; RJC Green - to HQSTC; RJ Hounslow - to MOD/AFD/DAFSD; TV Rogers - to Perm Press CM.

Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

iJobs Job Widget
iJobs People

Business Support - Banking - Halifax - £250 pd

£150 - £250 per day: Orgtel: HR Analyst - Banking - HR - Halifax - £150 - £250...

Geography Teacher

£24000 - £33600 per annum + pre 12 week AWR : Randstad Education Manchester Se...

Marketing Executive

£28000 - £32000 per annum: Charter Selection: A professional services company ...

Day In a Page

Noel Fielding's 'Luxury Comedy': A land of the outright bizarre

Noel Fielding's 'Luxury Comedy'

A land of the outright bizarre
What are the worst 'Word Crimes'?

What are the worst 'Word Crimes'?

‘Weird Al’ Yankovic's latest video is an ode to good grammar. But what do The Independent’s experts think he’s missed out?
Can Secret Cinema sell 80,000 'Back to the Future' tickets?

The worst kept secret in cinema

A cult movie event aims to immerse audiences of 80,000 in ‘Back to the Future’. But has it lost its magic?
Facebook: The new hatched, matched and dispatched

The new hatched, matched and dispatched

Family events used to be marked in the personal columns. But now Facebook has usurped the ‘Births, Deaths and Marriages’ announcements
Why do we have blood types?

Are you my type?

All of us have one but probably never wondered why. Yet even now, a century after blood types were discovered, it’s a matter of debate what they’re for
Honesty box hotels: You decide how much you pay

Honesty box hotels

Five hotels in Paris now allow guests to pay only what they think their stay was worth. It seems fraught with financial risk, but the honesty policy has its benefit
Commonwealth Games 2014: Why weight of pressure rests easy on Michael Jamieson’s shoulders

Michael Jamieson: Why weight of pressure rests easy on his shoulders

The Scottish swimmer is ready for ‘the biggest race of my life’ at the Commonwealth Games
Some are reformed drug addicts. Some are single mums. All are on benefits. But now these so-called 'scroungers’ are fighting back

The 'scroungers’ fight back

The welfare claimants battling to alter stereotypes
Amazing video shows Nasa 'flame extinguishment experiment' in action

Fireballs in space

Amazing video shows Nasa's 'flame extinguishment experiment' in action
A Bible for billionaires

A Bible for billionaires

Find out why America's richest men are reading John Brookes
Paranoid parenting is on the rise - and our children are suffering because of it

Paranoid parenting is on the rise

And our children are suffering because of it
For sale: Island where the Magna Carta was sealed

Magna Carta Island goes on sale

Yours for a cool £4m
Phone hacking scandal special report: The slide into crime at the 'News of the World'

The hacker's tale: the slide into crime at the 'News of the World'

Glenn Mulcaire was jailed for six months for intercepting phone messages. James Hanning tells his story in a new book. This is an extract
We flinch, but there are degrees of paedophilia

We flinch, but there are degrees of paedophilia

Child abusers are not all the same, yet the idea of treating them differently in relation to the severity of their crimes has somehow become controversial
The truth about conspiracy theories is that some require considering

The truth about conspiracy theories is that some require considering

For instance, did Isis kill the Israeli teenagers to trigger a war, asks Patrick Cockburn