Service appointments

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The following senior Service appointments have been announced by the Ministry of Defence:


Rear-Admiral: R. Walmsley - to be Director General Submarines, Chief Naval Engineer Officer and Senior Naval Representative in Bath.

Captains: FB Goodson - to be promoted Rear-Admiral and to be ACDS (Logistics); AB Gough - Nato Brussels; RC Moore - COMMW in the rank of Cdre.

Commanders: RG Fensome - Nato Italy; TR Harris - MOD London; MA James - MOD London.

Surgeon Commander: RW Smith - Haslar.

Chaplain: JL Joughin - Collingwood; MJ McCall - FOSF Sea.

Retirements: Vice-Admiral Sir Robert Hill; Commodore ACG, Wolstenholme; Capt M. Bickley; Capt ADE Pender-Cudlip; Capt DA McVean; Commander BH Bartlett; Commander DEP Baston; Commander MRS Bleby; Commander MFG Emary; Commander ID Lamb.


Colonels: PV Panton - to be OIC CMRO.

Lieutenant-Colonels: PJ Howson RA CH D - to be Sen Chap 1 Armd Div HQ & Sig Regt; TV Merritt RRF - to MOD; DSB Phipps R ANGLIAN - to BGTT(UK); RG Rowe R IRISH - to UK CICC; PC Villalard RA - to MOD.

Retirements: Brigadier J. Taylor ALC; Col DL de Beaujeu Late 14/20H; Col JN Eddison Late RAOC; Col AGR Holman Late RE; Col MR Walker Late AAC; Col DH Wright L/RAMC to (UK) Div HQ and Sig Regt; Lt-Col R. Mathews RADC to 12 Dent Gp.


Group Captains: PV Harris - to RAF Laarbruch; JB Symonds - to MOD.

Wing Commanders: IP Grigg - to HQSTC; JP Anderson - to MOD ACDS OR(AIR); WS Smyth - to 111 Sqn Leuchars; JW White - to 226 OCU Lossiemouth; MA Butler - to OFTS Finningley; W. Metcalfe - to SC Blackwell; CC Le Cornu - to HQAFCENT; TC Wright - to HQAAFCE; RW Joseph - to RAF Kinloss.