India elections 2014 


The 2014 general election in India is taking place in nine phases. It is the country's longest election in history, which runs from 7 April to 12 May 2014. Voting takes place in all 543 parliamentary constituencies. There are over 100 million first-time voters eligible to vote in these elections. The Election Commission of India has made arrangements for nearly a million polling stations, an increase of nearly 12 percent since last general elections in 2009.