Birthday Honours: Civil Order Of The British Empire, DBE

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Professor Athene Margaret Donald, FRS. Deputy head, Cavendish Laboratory and director, Women in Science, Engineering and Technology Initiative, University of Cambridge. For services to Physics. (Cambridgeshire)

Ms Amelia Chilcott Fawcett, CBE. Chair, Pensions First Group LLP and Guardian Media Group. For services to the Financial Services Industry. (London, WC2E)

Ms Jacqueline Fisher, CBE. Principal, Newcastle College. For services to local and national Further Education. (Hexham, Northumberland)

Mrs Janet Marion Gaymer, CBE, QC. (Hon.), commissioner for Public Appointments. For public service. (Effingham, Surrey)

Professor Julia Mary Goodfellow, CBE. Vice-Chancellor, University of Kent. For services to Science. (London, NW3)

Professor Barbara Monroe. Chief executive, St. Christopher's Hospice, London. For services to Palliative Care. (London, SW1P)

Ms Janet Paraskeva. First Civil Service commissioner and Chair, Child Maintenance Enforcement Commission. For public service. (London, N1)

Ms Paula Figueiroa Rego. Artist. For services to Art. (London, W1S)

Professor Alison Fettes Richard, DL. Vice-Chancellor, University of Cambridge. For services to Higher Education. (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire)

Mrs Naila Zaffar. Headteacher, Copthorne Primary School, Bradford. For services to local and national Education. (Bradford, West Yorkshire)