Bookworms battle for soul of Hay-on-Wye

GOODNESS knows what happened to the mild-mannered, bewhiskered old persons in lumpy cardigans and half-moon specs who should be running Britain's second-hand book trade. The current war between Drif Field, a book dealer and the author and publisher of Drif's Guide to the Secondhand Bookshops of the British Isles, and Richard Booth, self-styled King of Hay-on-Wye, the book town which is half in and half out of Herefordshire, suggests that intemperance - at least of language - is the order of the day in this eccentric game.

Hay-on-Wye, says the guide's latest edition, "is a hospice for books that nobody can bear to see die in public". Drif (everyone calls him that, though he says his mother did not give him the name, and has much worse ones for him) calls for a Mafia-style mercy killing to rid the world of this contamination.

"The Drif guide is complete and utter ignorant drivel," retorts Mr Booth, who started his first bookshop in Hay in 1961 and has owned most of the 20 or so bookshops there at one time or another in the years since. From time to time, what he calls "financial lunacy" has led to bargain- basement sales of bits of his business, especially during a spectacular crash in 1984.

Now, he is especially proud of having a fine selection of material on the American Indian.

Unfortunately for readers of Drif's Guide, Mr Field has failed to mention Mr Booth's vast Castle Bookshop in which the stock is housed.

"That must be a Freudian slip because I hated the place so much," says the guide's author. "The Castle Bookshop is a total dump. Anyway, it proves that when you go to Hay you lose your brain. The Castle Bookshop is no good. The books are dull books."

Mr Booth does not dispute that Hay's bookshops contain dross. "Every bookshop is a museum of the unsaleable," he says. Something like one- third of his stock comes in from dealers in the US, by the containerload. "The last container had 20,000 modern novels," he says, and suggests that they cannot all be any good.

If Mr Booth is being harried by Mr Field, spare a thought for Leon Morelli, who made a success of the Cinema Bookshop he picked up from Mr Booth. Drif writes of Mr Morelli that he is possibly anally retentive. Mind you, Mr Morelli is used to abuse. He says that when he owned a confectioner's in the town, Mr Booth quipped: "For a pain in the belly, buy ice-cream from Morelli."

Behind the barbs and mud-slinging, it is hard to dispute that Mr Booth started an industry which has helped Hay to prosper. He thinks the town may have a book turnover of pounds 2-pounds 3m (his shops have about a quarter of the trade), with more again in accommodation and eateries.

As for Mr Field - at least he does not pretend his guide is infallible, except perversely: "I may be fundamentally in error, but I'm consistently in error. There are people who operate on the principle that if I say a shop's bad they rush to it."

Start your day with The Independent, sign up for daily news emails
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
ebooks
ebooksA special investigation by Andy McSmith
  • Get to the point
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Independent Dating
and  

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

iJobs Job Widget
iJobs General

Recruitment Genius: Exhibition Sales Executive - OTE £35,000

£16000 - £35000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: An expanding B2B exhibition and...

Recruitment Genius: QA Technician

£16000 - £18000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: This leading manufacturer of re...

Recruitment Genius: Office Administrator

£20000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: Due to expansion, an experienced and hig...

SThree: Graduate Recruitment Resourcer

£20000 per annum + commission: SThree: Sthree have an exciting opportunity for...

Day In a Page

General Election 2015: The masterminds behind the scenes

The masterminds behind the election

How do you get your party leader to embrace a message and then stick to it? By employing these people
Machine Gun America: The amusement park where teenagers go to shoot a huge range of automatic weapons

Machine Gun America

The amusement park where teenagers go to shoot a huge range of automatic weapons
The ethics of pet food: Why are we are so selective in how we show animals our love?

The ethics of pet food

Why are we are so selective in how we show animals our love?
How Tansy Davies turned 9/11 into her opera 'Between Worlds'

How a composer turned 9/11 into her opera 'Between Worlds'

Tansy Davies makes her operatic debut with a work about the attack on the Twin Towers. Despite the topic, she says it is a life-affirming piece
11 best bedside tables

11 best bedside tables

It could be the first thing you see in the morning, so make it work for you. We find night stands, tables and cabinets to wake up to
Italy vs England player ratings: Did Andros Townsend's goal see him beat Harry Kane and Wayne Rooney to top marks?

Italy vs England player ratings

Did Townsend's goal see him beat Kane and Rooney to top marks?
Danny Higginbotham: An underdog's tale of making the most of it

An underdog's tale of making the most of it

Danny Higginbotham on being let go by Manchester United, annoying Gordon Strachan, utilising his talents to the full at Stoke and plunging into the world of analysis
Audley Harrison's abusers forget the debt he's due, but Errol Christie will always remember what he owes the police

Steve Bunce: Inside Boxing

Audley Harrison's abusers forget the debt he's due, but Errol Christie will always remember what he owes the police
No postcode? No vote

Floating voters

How living on a houseboat meant I didn't officially 'exist'
Louis Theroux's affable Englishman routine begins to wear thin

By Reason of Insanity

Louis Theroux's affable Englishman routine begins to wear thin
Power dressing is back – but no shoulderpads!

Power dressing is back

But banish all thoughts of Eighties shoulderpads
Spanish stone-age cave paintings 'under threat' after being re-opened to the public

Spanish stone-age cave paintings in Altamira 'under threat'

Caves were re-opened to the public
'I was the bookies’ favourite to be first to leave the Cabinet'

Vince Cable interview

'I was the bookies’ favourite to be first to leave the Cabinet'
Election 2015: How many of the Government's coalition agreement promises have been kept?

Promises, promises

But how many coalition agreement pledges have been kept?
The Gaza fisherman who built his own reef - and was shot dead there by an Israeli gunboat

The death of a Gaza fisherman

He built his own reef, and was fatally shot there by an Israeli gunboat