Bookworms battle for soul of Hay-on-Wye

GOODNESS knows what happened to the mild-mannered, bewhiskered old persons in lumpy cardigans and half-moon specs who should be running Britain's second-hand book trade. The current war between Drif Field, a book dealer and the author and publisher of Drif's Guide to the Secondhand Bookshops of the British Isles, and Richard Booth, self-styled King of Hay-on-Wye, the book town which is half in and half out of Herefordshire, suggests that intemperance - at least of language - is the order of the day in this eccentric game.

Hay-on-Wye, says the guide's latest edition, "is a hospice for books that nobody can bear to see die in public". Drif (everyone calls him that, though he says his mother did not give him the name, and has much worse ones for him) calls for a Mafia-style mercy killing to rid the world of this contamination.

"The Drif guide is complete and utter ignorant drivel," retorts Mr Booth, who started his first bookshop in Hay in 1961 and has owned most of the 20 or so bookshops there at one time or another in the years since. From time to time, what he calls "financial lunacy" has led to bargain- basement sales of bits of his business, especially during a spectacular crash in 1984.

Now, he is especially proud of having a fine selection of material on the American Indian.

Unfortunately for readers of Drif's Guide, Mr Field has failed to mention Mr Booth's vast Castle Bookshop in which the stock is housed.

"That must be a Freudian slip because I hated the place so much," says the guide's author. "The Castle Bookshop is a total dump. Anyway, it proves that when you go to Hay you lose your brain. The Castle Bookshop is no good. The books are dull books."

Mr Booth does not dispute that Hay's bookshops contain dross. "Every bookshop is a museum of the unsaleable," he says. Something like one- third of his stock comes in from dealers in the US, by the containerload. "The last container had 20,000 modern novels," he says, and suggests that they cannot all be any good.

If Mr Booth is being harried by Mr Field, spare a thought for Leon Morelli, who made a success of the Cinema Bookshop he picked up from Mr Booth. Drif writes of Mr Morelli that he is possibly anally retentive. Mind you, Mr Morelli is used to abuse. He says that when he owned a confectioner's in the town, Mr Booth quipped: "For a pain in the belly, buy ice-cream from Morelli."

Behind the barbs and mud-slinging, it is hard to dispute that Mr Booth started an industry which has helped Hay to prosper. He thinks the town may have a book turnover of pounds 2-pounds 3m (his shops have about a quarter of the trade), with more again in accommodation and eateries.

As for Mr Field - at least he does not pretend his guide is infallible, except perversely: "I may be fundamentally in error, but I'm consistently in error. There are people who operate on the principle that if I say a shop's bad they rush to it."

Start your day with The Independent, sign up for daily news emails
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
ebooks
ebooksAn introduction to the ground rules of British democracy
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
SPONSORED FEATURES
Independent Dating
and  

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

iJobs Job Widget
iJobs General

Recruitment Genius: Senior Environmental Adviser - Maternity Cover

£37040 - £43600 per annum: Recruitment Genius: The UK's export credit agency a...

Recruitment Genius: CBM & Lubrication Technician

£25000 - £27500 per annum: Recruitment Genius: This company provides a compreh...

Recruitment Genius: Care Worker - Residential Emergency Service

£16800 - £19500 per annum: Recruitment Genius: Would you like to join an organ...

Recruitment Genius: Senior Landscaper

£25000 - £28000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: In the last five years this com...

Day In a Page

The long walk west: they fled war in Syria, only to get held up in Hungary – now hundreds of refugees have set off on foot for Austria

They fled war in Syria...

...only to get stuck and sidetracked in Hungary
From The Prisoner to Mad Men, elaborate title sequences are one of the keys to a great TV series

Title sequences: From The Prisoner to Mad Men

Elaborate title sequences are one of the keys to a great TV series. But why does the art form have such a chequered history?
Giorgio Armani Beauty's fabric-inspired foundations: Get back to basics this autumn

Giorgio Armani Beauty's foundations

Sumptuous fabrics meet luscious cosmetics for this elegant look
From stowaways to Operation Stack: Life in a transcontinental lorry cab

Life from the inside of a trucker's cab

From stowaways to Operation Stack, it's a challenging time to be a trucker heading to and from the Continent
Kelis interview: The songwriter and sauce-maker on cooking for Pharrell and crying over potatoes

Kelis interview

The singer and sauce-maker on cooking for Pharrell
Refugee crisis: David Cameron lowered the flag for the dead king of Saudi Arabia - will he do the same honour for little Aylan Kurdi?

Cameron lowered the flag for the dead king of Saudi Arabia...

But will he do the same honour for little Aylan Kurdi, asks Robert Fisk
Our leaders lack courage in this refugee crisis. We are shamed by our European neighbours

Our leaders lack courage in this refugee crisis. We are shamed by our European neighbours

Humanity must be at the heart of politics, says Jeremy Corbyn
Joe Biden's 'tease tour': Could the US Vice-President be testing the water for a presidential run?

Joe Biden's 'tease tour'

Could the US Vice-President be testing the water for a presidential run?
Britain's 24-hour culture: With the 'leisured society' a distant dream we're working longer and less regular hours than ever

Britain's 24-hour culture

With the 'leisured society' a distant dream we're working longer and less regular hours than ever
Diplomacy board game: Treachery is the way to win - which makes it just like the real thing

The addictive nature of Diplomacy

Bullying, betrayal, aggression – it may be just a board game, but the family that plays Diplomacy may never look at each other in the same way again
Lady Chatterley's Lover: Racy underwear for fans of DH Lawrence's equally racy tome

Fashion: Ooh, Lady Chatterley!

Take inspiration from DH Lawrence's racy tome with equally racy underwear
8 best children's clocks

Tick-tock: 8 best children's clocks

Whether you’re teaching them to tell the time or putting the finishing touches to a nursery, there’s a ticker for that
Charlie Austin: Queens Park Rangers striker says ‘If the move is not right, I’m not going’

Charlie Austin: ‘If the move is not right, I’m not going’

After hitting 18 goals in the Premier League last season, the QPR striker was the great non-deal of transfer deadline day. But he says he'd preferred another shot at promotion
Isis profits from destruction of antiquities by selling relics to dealers - and then blowing up the buildings they come from to conceal the evidence of looting

How Isis profits from destruction of antiquities

Robert Fisk on the terrorist group's manipulation of the market to increase the price of artefacts
Labour leadership: Andy Burnham urges Jeremy Corbyn voters to think again in last-minute plea

'If we lose touch we’ll end up with two decades of the Tories'

In an exclusive interview, Andy Burnham urges Jeremy Corbyn voters to think again in last-minute plea