Honours: Knights Bachelor


Click to follow
The Independent Online

Gerald Acher, CBE, LVO. For charitable services. (Cobham, Surrey)

* Rodney Malcolm Aldridge, OBE. Chair, The Aldridge Foundation. For services to Young People. (London, WC2)

* Charles Lamb Allen, CBE. For services to the 2012 Olympics and Paralympics. (London, W14)

* John Alexander Armitt, CBE. Chair, Olympic Delivery Authority. For services to Engineering and Construction. (London, SW1P)

* Peter Lytton Bazalgette. TV Producer. For services to Broadcasting. (London, W11)

* Michael David Bear. Formerly Lord Mayor, City of London. For services to Regeneration, Charity and the City of London. (London, N3)

* Professor Stephen Robert Bloom. Head of Division of Diabetes and Endocrinology, Imperial College London. For services to Medical Science. (London, W12)

* Dr John Gordon St Buchanan. Clair, chairman, Smith & Nephew plc. For services to Industry. (Oxted, Surrey)

* Professor Simon Kirwan Donaldson. Royal Society Professor of Mathematics, Imperial College London. For services to Mathematics. (Middlesex)

* Herbert Douglas Ellis, OBE. For charitable services. (Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands)

* Roger James Gale, MP. For public and political services. (Canterbury, Kent)

* Professor Andre Konstantin Geim. Professor of Physics, University of Manchester. For services to Science. (Sale, Greater Manchester)

* Geoffrey Hall. Formerly Principal and chief executive, New College Nottingham. For services to Further Education. (Beeston, Nottinghamshire)

* Professor Geoffrey William Hill. Poet and Critic. For services to Literature. (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire)

* George Iacobescu, CBE. For services to Charity, Community and the Financial Services Industry. (London, W1K)

* Professor Diarmaid Ninian John MacCulloch. Professor of the History of the Church, University of Oxford. For services to Scholarship. (Oxfordshire)

* Professor Konstantin Novoselov. Professor of Physics, University of Manchester. For services to Science. (Greater Manchester)

* Antonio Pappano. Music director, Royal Opera House. For services to Music. (London, WC2E)

* Professor Mark Brian Pepys. Formerly Professor of Medicine and head of the Division of Medicine, University College London Medical School, Royal Free Hospital. For services to Biomedicine. (London, NW11)

* Dr Venkatraman Ramakrishnan. Scientist, Medical Research Council, Laboratory of Molecular Biology. For services to Molecular Biology. (Granchester, Cambridgeshire)

* David Edward Reid. Formerly chairman, Tesco plc and chairman, Kwik-Fit Group. For services to Business and to Charity. (Great Dunmow, Essex)

* Paul Ruddock. Philanthropist. For services to the Arts. (London, W11)

* Robert Russell. For public service. (Colchester, Essex)

* Professor John Gerald Patrick Sissons. Regius Professor of Physic, University of Cambridge. For services to Research and Education in Clinical Medicine.

* Professor Christopher Maxwell Snowden. Vice-Chancellor, University of Surrey. For services to Engineering and to Higher Education. (Guildford, Surrey)

* Professor Robert Tony Watson, CMG. Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. (London, SW1P)

* Andrew Witty. Chief executive Officer, GlaxoSmithKline. For services to the Economy and to the UK Pharmaceutical Industry. (Buckinghamshire)

New Year Honours List 2012:
* Knights Bachelor
* Order of the Bath
* Royal Victorian Order, Royal Victorian Medal, and Colonial Police and Fire Service Medal
* Order of the British Empire, Civil - GBE, DBE, CBE
* Order of the British Empire, Civil - OBE
* Order of the British Empire, Civil - MBE
* Diplomatic Services and Overseas List
* Commonwealth
* Military Division
* Sundries