Honours List: Knights Bachelor

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Professor Mansel Aylward, CB. Chairman, Wales Centre for Health. For services to Healthcare. (Merthyr Tydfil)

Paul John James Britton, CB. Formerly Director-General and head, Economic and Domestic Affairs Secretariat, Cabinet Office. (Tonbridge, Kent)

Professor Robert George Burgess. Vice-Chancellor, University of Leicester. For services to local and national Higher Education. (Leicester, Leicestershire)

Professor John Burn. Professor of Clinical Genetics, Newcastle University. For services to Medicine.

Jonathan Stephen Cunliffe, CB. Second permanent secretary and head of International Economic Affairs, Europe and G8 Sherpa, Prime Minister's Office. (London, N12)

Andrew Patrick Dillon, CBE. Chief executive, National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence. For services to Healthcare. (London, SW14)

Ian David Grant, CBE. Formerly chairman, The Crown Estate. (Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross)

Professor John Stranger Holman. National director, Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Programme. For services to Education. (York, North Yorkshire)

Nicholas Hytner. Director, National Theatre. For services to Drama. (London, NW1)

Mark Ellis Powell Jones. Director, Victoria and Albert Museum. For services to the Arts. (London, SE16)

Dr Ralph Kohn, FRS. For services to Science, Music and to Charity. (London, NW3)

Michael John Marshall, CBE. Chairman, Marshall of Cambridge (Holdings) Ltd. For services to Business, Charity and to the community in Cambridgeshire. (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire)

Ian Robert McGeechan, OBE. For services to Rugby. (High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire)

Professor Paul Anthony Mellars, FBA. Professor of Prehistory and Human Evolution, University of Cambridge. For services to Scholarship. (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire)

Professor Salvador Moncada. Director, Wolfson Institute of Biomedical Research, University College London. For services to Science. (London, NW1)

Erich Arieh Reich. Chairman, Kindertransport Group, Association of Jewish Refugees. For charitable services. (London, N6)

Professor Michael Adrian Richards, CBE. National Cancer director. For services to Medicine. (London, N5)

His Honour Mota Singh. For services to the Administration of Justice, Community Relations and to the Voluntary Sector. (London, SW19)

Patrick Stewart, OBE. Actor. For services to Drama. (London, SE16)

Graham Robert Wynne, CBE. Chief executive, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds. For services to Nature Conservation. (Royston, Hertfordshire)