By-election gains for Tories and Labour


Click to follow
Indy Politics

The Tories and Labour both gained in the latest council by-elections, during a night of close finishes.

Conservative Ian Brown took a Liberal Democrat seat at Salthill, Ribble Valley Borough, Lancashire, by four votes.

However, there was a net swing to the Lib Dems based on the average vote shares in May.

Stuart Hutchinson made a second gain for the Tories, easily winning from independent at West Wight, Isle of Wight Council.

By just one vote Labour's Dana-Louise Davies triumphed at Ruabon, Wrexham County Borough, North Wales, on a big shift from Plaid Cymru.

There was relief for the Lib Dems when they held off a Labour challenge at Poulton North, Warrington Borough, in its third contest this year.

Lib Dem councillor Colin Oliver lost there in May's main polls but successfully held another seat in the ward in a July by-election.

His death caused the latest poll.

The SNP defended a seat at Hillhead, Glasgow, with a jump in its vote share of nearly 12% since 2007.

Despite the eurozone's woes there was little sign of a surge by Ukip which fought four of the five contests declared so far.


Glasgow City - Hillhead: First count SNP 1026, Lab 945, Green 435, C 372, Lib Dem 307, Ukip 36, Britannica 11. (May 2007 - Four seats first count SNP 1899, Green 1675, Lab 1192, Lib Dem 1184, Lab 1080, C 912, Lib Dem 463, Solidarity 344, Scottish Socialist Party 184, Nine per cent growth party 51. Elected SNP 1, Green 1, Lab 1, Lib Dem 1). SNP hold. Swing 3.4% Lab to SNP.

Isle of Wight Council - West Wight: C 640, Lib Dem 116, Ukip 78. (June 2009 - Ind 719, C 624). C gain from Ind

Redcar and Cleveland Borough - Zetland: Two seats counting today. (May 2011 - Two seats Lib Dem 816, 787, Lab 578, 548, C 238, 216).

Ribble Valley Borough - Salthill: C 208, Lib Dem 204, Ukip 158, Lab 40. (May 2011 - Two seats C 323, Lib Dem 266, Ukip 223, C 211, Lib Dem 157, Ind 178, Lab 109, 100). C gain from Lib Dem. Swing 2.4% C to Lib Dem.

Warrington Borough - Poulton North: Lib Dem 776, Lab 733, C 147, Ukip 79. (May 2011 - Lab 1442, Lib Dem 1204, C 426; July 28 2011 by-election: Lib Dem 1106, Lab 895, C 190, Ukip 97). Lib Dem hold. Swing 5.1% Lab to Lib Dem.

Wrexham County Borough - Ruabon: Lab 231, Plaid Cymru 230, No description 155, C 59. (May 2008 - Plaid Cymru 337, No description 248, Lab 184). Lab gain from Plaid Cymru. Swing 10% Plaid Cymru to Lab.