Conservative leadership contest: Contenders and their supporters

Click to follow
Indy Politics
Apart from the hard-core campaigners, who have declared their support for each of the Conservative leadership candidates, there are unofficial lists of potential supporters collected by each camp.

The Independent has identified more than 100 of the 164 Conservative MPs from those lists, and while some might be mistaken - particularly with MPs wanting to consult their local parties before casting their votes on Tuesday - they could provide a rough indication of the way in which the first-round voting might be weighted.

The closeness of Clarke, Hague and Howard is marked, but Lilley cannot yet be discounted - unless Howard beats him to become the lead right-winger in the first-round ballot. But with more than 40 votes uncommitted, the result could swing any way in what MPs acknowledge is a "lottery".


David Curry (joint campaign manager); Michael Jack (joint campaign manager); with support declared by: Michael Mates, John Gummer, and Ian Taylor.

Possible supporters include:

Tony Baldry, Banbury; Virginia Bottomley, SW Surrey; Peter Brooke, Cities of London and Westminster; Quentin Davies, Grantham and Stamford; Stephen Dorrell, Charnwood; Sir Peter Emery, E Devon; Michael Fabricant, Lichfield; Sir Norman Fowler, Sutton Coldfield; Edward Garnier, Harborough; Sir Alan Haselhurst, Saffron Walden; Sir Edward Heath, Old Bexley and Sidcup; Michael Heseltine, Henley; Douglas Hogg, Sleaford and North Hykeham; Robert Jackson, Wantage; Sir Geoffrey Johnson Smith, Wealden; Tom King, Bridgwater; Sir Peter Lloyd, Fareham; John MacGregor, S Norfolk; Sir David Madel, SW Bedfordshire; Richard Ottaway, Croydon S; Andrew Rowe, Faversham and Mid Kent; Peter Temple-Morris, Leominister; Robert Walter, N Dorset; Sir Ray Whitney, Wycombe; Shaun Woodward, Witney; and Sir George Young, NW Hampshire.

(Total 32)


James Arbuthnot (campaign manager), Alan Duncan, Nigel Evans, James Paice; Tim Yeo; Roger Gale; Nick Hawkins; Humfrey Malins.

Possible supporters:

Michael Ancram, Devizes: Peter Bottomley, Worthing W; Ian Bruce, South Dorset, James Clappison, Hertsmere; Geoffrey Clifton-Brown, Cotswold; David Heathcoat-Amory, Wells; Cheryl Gillan, Chesham and Amersham; Julie Kirkbride, Bromsgrove; Tim Loughton, E Worthing and Shoreham; Sir Nicholas Lyell, NE Bedfordshire; John Maples, Stratford-on-Avon; Malcolm Moss, NE Cambridgeshire; Archie Norman, Tunbridge Wells; Richard Page, SW Hertfordshire; Eric Pickles, Brentwood and Ongar; David Prior, N Norfolk; Jonathan Sayeed, Mid Bedfordshire; Sir Peter Tapsell, Louth and Horncastle.

(Total 27)


Sir Michael Spicer (campaign manager); Tim Collins; David Davis; David Maclean; Liam Fox; Oliver Heald; David Lidington; Patrick Nicholls; Francis Maude; James Cran; Christopher Chope; Andrew Lansley; Christopher Fraser.

Possible supporters:

Sir Richard Body, Boston and Skegness; Simon Burns, W Chelmsford; Alan Clark, Kensington and Chelsea; David Faber, Westbury; Teresa Gorman, Billericay; John Greenway, Ryedale; Philip Hammond, Runnymede and Weybridge; Eleanor Laing, Epping Forest; Edward Leigh, Gainsborough; Theresa May, Maidenhead; Owen Paterson, N Shropshire; Desmond Swayne, New Forest W; John Taylor, Solihull; Sir Teddy Taylor, Rochford and Southend E; David Tredinnick, Bosworth. Nicholas Winterton, Macclesfield.

(Total 30)


Eric Forth (campaign manager); Gillian Shephard; David Willetts; Sir Patrick Cormack; John Whittingdale; David Amess; Bernard Jenkin; Nigel Waterson; Gerald Howarth; Andrew Tyrie; Nick Gibb; John Bercow.

Possible supporters: Michael Colvin, Romsey; Piers Merchant, Beckenham; Robert Syms, Poole; Ann Widdecombe, Maidstone and the Weald; Ann Winterton, Congleton.

(Total 18)


Iain Duncan Smith (campaign manager); Angela Browning; Marion Roe; Andrew Hunter; Julian Brazier; David Wilshire; John Wilkinson; Julian Lewis; Oliver Letwin; Howard Flight; Laurence Robertson.

(Total 12)


Peter Ainsworth, E Surrey; David Atkinson, Bournemouth E; Peter Atkinson, Hexham; Sir Paul Beresford, Mole Valley; Crispin Blunt, Reigate; Tim Boswell, Daventry; Graham Brady, Altrincham and Sale W; John Butterfill, Bournemouth W; William Cash, Stone; Sir Sydney Chapman, Chipping Barnet; Michael Clark, Rayleigh; Stephen Day, Cheadle; Michael Fallon, Sevenoaks; Christopher Gill, Ludlow; Alistair Goodlad, Eddisbury; James Gray, N Wiltshire; Damian Green, Ashford; Dominic Grieve, Beaconsfield; Sir Archie Hamilton, Epsom and Ewell; John Hayes, S Holland and the Deepings; John Horam, Orpington; Robert Key, Salisbury; Michael Lord, Central Suffolk and N Ipswich; Peter Luff, Mid Worcestershire; John Major, Huntingdon; Brian Mawhinney, NW Cambridgeshire; Anne McIntosh, Vale of York; Andrew Mackay, Bracknell; Patrick McLoughlin, W Derbyshire; Andrew Robathan, Blaby; David Ruffley, Bury St Edmunds; Richard Shepherd, Aldridge-Brownhills; Keith Simpson, Mid Norfolk; Nicholas Soames, Mid Sussex; Caroline Spelman, Meriden; Richard Spring, W Suffolk; Nick St Aubyn, Guildford; Sir John Stanley, Tonbridge and Malling; Anthony Steen, Totnes; Gary Streeter, SW Devon; John Townend, E Yorkshire; Michael Trend, Windsor; Peter Viggers, Gosport; Charles Wardle, Bexhill and Battle; Bowen Wells, Hertford and Stortford.

(Total 45)