Interests declared by the committee

Click to follow
Indy Politics
THE proposed members of committee that will investigate the House of Commons 'cash for questions' affair had the following interests listed, as at 31 January 1994, in the House register:

Sir Nicholas Lyell, the Attorney General: lists under 'remunerated employment, office, profession etc', barrister, Queen's Counsel, Recorder, and a lengthy list of Lloyd's syndicates; rental from property in Hertfordshire and France.

Tony Newton, Leader of the House: nil.

David Alton, MP for Mossley Hill (Liberal Democrat): occasional articles, lectures, book royalties, broadcasting; occasional research assistance provided by Movement for Christian Democracy, the Jubilee Campaign and Christian Action, Research and Education.

Tony Benn, MP for Chesterfield (Labour): freelance writing, lecturing, broadcasting; registrable shareholding in United Newspapers, owners of the Tory- leaning Express Group newspapers and northern provincial papers (inheritance from grandfather whose publishing business was bought out).

Sir Marcus Fox, MP for Shipley (Conservative), chairman of the 1922 backbench committee: remunerated directorships of Westminster Communications Ltd (PR - clients British Gas, Builders Merchant Federation, Standard Life), Care Services Group (contract cleaning), McCarthy & Stone Ltd (sheltered housing), Bristol Port Company, Illingworth Morris Ltd (wool textile group), Hartley Investment Trust, Yorkshire Food Group plc. Consultant to 3M (UK) Ltd, Shepherd (Construction) Ltd, Gratte Brothers Ltd.

Sir Peter Hordern, MP for Horsham (Conservative): paid directorships of Fina plc, Foreign and Colonial Smaller Co Investment Trust, TR Technology Investment Trust. Consultant to Pannell, Kerr, Forster,


Doug Hoyle, MP for Warrington North (Labour), chairman of the Parliamentary Labour Party: sponsored by Manufacturing, Science and Finance Union, no personal financial benefit.

Bill Michie, MP for Heeley (Labour), member, Commons select committee on members' interests: sponsored by Amalgamated Engineering and Electrical Union, no personal financial benefit. Sheffield City Council provides his low-cost Parliamentary office.

Sir David Mitchell, MP for West Hampshire (Conservative): paid chairman of, and registrable shareholding in, El Vino Company Ltd, the wine bar and wine merchants.

Alf Morris, MP for Manchester, Wythenshawe: sponsored by the Co-operative Party.

John Morris, MP for Aberavon (Labour), shadow attorney general: QC, Recorder; sponsored by GMB general union, no personal financial benefit.

Sir Cranley Onslow, MP for Woking, (Conservative): paid directorships of Redifon Holdings Ltd (electronics), Elmdale Investments Ltd, Scatsouth EO1-36 (property investments). Consultant to Bristow Helicopters, Generics Holdings Corporation (IT management consultants), Argyll Group plc. Associate, LEK Partnership (management consultants).

Sir Giles Shaw: MP for Pudsey (Conservative): paid director of Broadcasters Audience Research Board Ltd, Yorkshire Water plc (non-executive), British Steel plc (non-executive). Marketing consultant to Philip Harris Group plc (science and educational materials).

Peter Shore, MP for Bethnal Green & Stepney (Labour): occasional journalism, lectures, TV appearances. Sponsored by Transport and General Workers' Union, no personal financial benefit.

Sir James Spicer, MP for West Dorset (Conservative): paid director and chairman, Fitness for Industry Ltd, registrable shareholdings in Thames and Kennet Marina, Fitness for Industry.

John Ward, MP for Poole (Conservative): nil. Last year's register shows a car provided by Taylor Woodrow.

Alan Williams, MP for Swansea West (Labour), member, Public Accounts Committee: remunerated parliamentary adviser to the Institute of Plant Engineers; occasional broadcasting and lecturing fees; sponsored by Transport Salaried Staffs Association, no personal financial benefit.