Pro-lifers issue election hit-list

Click to follow
The Prolife Alliance Party yesterday targeted nine members of Tony Blair's Shadow Cabinet in a hit list of more than 80 MPs who could be challenged at the general election by anti-abortion candidates.

Cabinet ministers who were listed by the Prolife group included Stephen Dorrell, the Secretary of State for Health, and two of his predecessors, Kenneth Clarke and Virginia Bottomley. Alastair Goodlad, the Government chief whip, was singled out for his "extreme anti-life" record.

The ten Tory MPs who are being targeted include three ministers: Sir Nicholas Lyell, the Attorney General, David Mitchell, Social Security, and Tom Sackville, Home Office.

The Shadow Cabinet members targeted for their voting record for abortion included: Margaret Beckett, Gordon Brown, David Clark, Ron Davies, Frank Dobson, Harriet Harman, Mo Mowlam, Chris Smith and Clare Short.

Labour MPs likely to be challenged are: Diane Abbott (Hackney N), Graham Allen (Nottingham N), Hilary Armstrong (Durham NW), John Austin-Walker (Erith), Kevin Barron (Rother Valley), Hugh Bayley (York), Paul Boateng (Brent S), Keith Bradley (Manchester Withington), Nick Brown (Newcastle E), Richard Caborn (Sheffield Central), Ann Clwyd (Cynon Valley), Harry Cohen (Leyton), Jeremy Corbyn (Islington N), James Cousins (Newcastle Central), Tom Cox (Tooting), Alistair Darling (Edinburgh Central), Paul Flynn (Newport W), Derek Foster (Bishop Aukland), George Foulkes (Carrick Cumnock and Doon Valley), Maria Fyfe (Glasgow Maryhill), Bruce George (Walsall S), John Gilbert (Dudley N), Llin Golding (Newcastle-under-Lyme), John Gunnell (Morley), David Hinchliffe (Wakefield), Kim Howells (Pontypridd), Doug Hoyle (Warrington N), Roy Hughes (Newport E), Eric Illsley (Barnsley Central), Adam Ingram (East Kilbride), Martyn Jones (Clwyd S), Tessa Jowell (Dulwich), Terry Lewis (Worsley), Ken Livingstone (Brent E), John McAllion (Dundee E), William McKelvey (Kilmarnock), Henry McLeish (Fife Central), Max Madden (Bradford W), Alice Mahon (Halifax), John Marek (Wrexham), Paul Marland (Forest of Dean), John Maxton (Glasgow Cathcart), Alan Meale (Mansfield), Bill Michie (Sheffield Heeley), Lewis Moonie (Kirkcaldy), Chris Mullin (Sunderland S), Dawn Primarolo (Bristol S), Joyce Quinn (Gateshead E), Alan Rogers (Rhondda), Joan Ruddock (Lewisham Deptford), Brian Sedgemore (Hackney S), Robert Sheldon (Ashton-under-Lyme), Dennis Skinner (Bolsover), Clive Soley (Ealing), Rachel Squire (Dunfirmline W), Gerald Steinberg (Durham), Joan Walley (Stoke N), Alan Williams (Swansea W), Alan W Williams (Carmarthen E), David Winnick (Walsall N).

Conservatives: Quentin Davies (Grantham), Chris Gill (Ludlow), Dr Charles Goodson-Wickes (Wimbledon), Sir Alan Haselhurst (Saffron Waldon), Graham Riddick (Colne Valley), John Townend (Yorkshire E).

Liberal Democrats: Matthew Taylor (Truro). Plaid Cymru: Dafydd Wigley (Caernarfon).

Leading article, page 15