The Cabinet and new members of the Government

The reshuffle in full
Click to follow
Indy Politics
  • Prime Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Minister for the Civil Service: The Rt Hon Tony Blair
  • Deputy Prime Minister: The Rt Hon John Prescott
  • Chancellor of The Exchequer: The Rt Hon Gordon Brown
  • Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs: The Rt Hon Jack Straw MP
  • Secretary of State for Work and Pensions: The Rt Hon David Blunkett
  • Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: The Rt Hon Margaret Beckett
  • Secretary of State for Transport and Secretary of State for Scotland: The Rt Hon Alistair Darling
  • Secretary of State for Defence: The Rt Hon Dr John Reid
  • Lord Privy Seal and Leader of The House of Commons: The Rt Hon Geoff Hoon
  • Secretary of State for Health: The Rt Hon Patricia Hewitt
  • Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport: The Rt Hon Tessa Jowell
  • Parliamentary Secretary to The Treasury and Chief Whip: The Rt Hon Hilary Armstrong
  • Secretary of State for The Home Office: The Rt Hon Charles Clarke
  • Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, and Secretary of State for Wales: The Rt Hon Peter Hain MP
  • Minister without Portfolio: The Rt Hon Ian McCartney
  • Leader of The House of Lords and Lord President of The Council: The Rt Hon Baroness Amos
  • Secretary of State for Constitutional Affairs and Lord Chancellor: The Rt Hon Lord Falconer of Thoroton QC
  • Secretary of State for International Development: The Rt Hon Hilary Benn
  • Secretary of State for Productivity, Energy and Industry: The Rt Hon Alan Johnson
  • Secretary of State for Education and Skills: The Rt Hon Ruth Kelly
  • Minister of Communities and Local Government: The Rt Hon David Miliband
  • Chancellor of The Duchy of Lancaster (Minister for: The Cabinet Office): The Rt Hon John Hutton
  • Chief Secretary to The Treasury: The Rt Hon Des Browne

Also attending Cabinet

  • Lords Chief Whip and Captain of The Gentlemen at Arms: The Rt Hon Lord Grocott
  • Attorney General: The Rt Hon Lord Goldsmith
  • Minister of State for Europe: Douglas Alexander

Law Officers

  • Solicitor General: Mike O'Brien

Office of The Deputy Prime Minister

  • Minister for Local Government: Phil Woolas
  • Minister for Housing and Planning: Yvette Cooper
  • Parliamentary Secretary: Jim Fitzpatrick and Baroness Andrews

Cabinet Office

  • Parliamentary Secretary: Jim Murphy

HM Treasury

  • Financial Secretary: John Healey
  • Economic Secretary: Ivan Lewis

Leader of The House of Commons

  • Parliamentary Secretary: Nigel Griffiths

Department for Constitutional Affairs

  • Minister of State: The Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC
  • Parliamentary Secretary: Bridget Prentice MP

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

  • Minister for Europe: Douglas Alexander MP
  • Minister for The Middle East: Dr Kim Howells MP
  • Minister for Trade (also DPEI): Ian Pearson MP
  • Parliamentary Secretary: Lord Triesman

Home Office

  • Minister of State: Tony McNulty MP
  • Parliamentary Secretary: Andy Burnham MP

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

  • Parliamentary Secretary: Jim Knight MP and Lord Bach

Department for Work and Pensions

  • Minister of State (Work): The Rt Hon Margaret Hodge MBE MP
  • Minister of State (Pensions): Stephen Timms MP
  • Parliamentary Secretary: Lord Hunt OBE, James Plaskitt MP and Liz Blackman MP

Department for Transport

  • Minister of State: Dr Stephen Ladyman MP
  • Parliamentary Secretary: Derek Twigg MP and Karen Buck MP

Department of Health

  • Minister of State: The Rt Hon Jane Kennedy MP
  • Minister of State: Lord Warner
  • Parliamentary Secretary: Caroline Flint MP and Liam Byrne MP

Northern Ireland Office

  • Minister of State: David Hanson MP and Lord Rooker
  • Parliamentary Secretary: Shaun Woodward MP

Ministry of Defence

  • Parliamentary Secretary: Don Touhig MP and Lord Drayson

Department for Productivity, Energy and Industry

  • Minister for Energy: Malcolm Wicks MP
  • Minister for Trade (also FCO): Ian Pearson MP
  • Minister of State: Alun Michael MP
  • Parliamentary Secretary: Barry Gardiner MP

Department for Education and Skills

  • Minister of State (Schools): The Rt Hon Jacqui Smith MP
  • Minister of State (Universities): Bill Rammell MP
  • Minister of State (Children): The Rt Hon Beverley Hughes
  • Parliamentary Secretary: Lord Adonis, Phil Hope MP and Maria Eagle MP

Department for Culture, Media and Sport

  • Parliamentary Secretary: James Purnell MP and David Lammy MP

Wales Office

  • Parliamentary Secretary: Nick Ainger MP

House of Lords (Whips)

  • Baroness in Waiting: Baroness Royall of Blaisdon
  • Lord in Waiting and Parliamentary Secretary (paid as a Parliamentary Secretary): Lord McKenzie of Luton

House of Commons (Whips)

  • Vice Chamberlain of Her Majesty's Household: John Heppell MP
  • Lord Commissioner: Vernon Coaker MP and Tom Watson
  • Assistant Government Whip: Frank Roy MP, Ian Cawsey MP, Alan Campbell MP, Dave Watts MP, Claire Ward MP, Parmjit Dhanda MP, Tony Cunningham MP, Kevin Brennan MP and Joan Ryan
  • Parliamentary Private Secretary to The Prime Minister: The Rt Hon Keith Hill MP