Tory shortlist for Mayor of London announced

Richmond MP Zac Goldsmith among the chosen four

Click to follow

The shortlist for the Tory nomination for Mayor of London has been announced.

Mark Wallace, the executive editor of influential Tory blog ConservativeHome, tweeted on Saturday afternoon that Richmond MP Zac Goldsmith, London MEP Syed Kamall,  GLA member Andrew Boff and deputy mayor for policing and crime Stephen Greenhalgh have made the shortlist.

Reacting to the news, Goldsmith and Kamall tweeted:

The news means hopefuls including Westminster Council leader Philippa Roe, former footballer Sol Campbell and entrepreneur Ivan Massow have missed out on their chance to succeed Boris Johnson.

Massow, who fought a colourful social media campaign for the nomination, said he received the news by text that he hadn’t made the cut:

More to follow