TV comic Lee Nelson pulls out of race for David Miliband's former Parliamentary seat


TV comedian Lee Nelson has withdrawn his nomination to stand in the South Shields by-election.

He announced earlier today that he was entering the race but when the official list of candidates was announced by South Tyneside Council it stated that he had withdrawn.

A total of nine candidates are standing in the May 2 poll, sparked by Labour MP David Miliband's decision to quit British politics.

They are Karen Allen for the Conservatives; Hugh Annand for the Liberal Democrats; Lady Dorothy MacBeth Brookes for the British National Party; Phil Brown for The Independent Socialist Party; Thomas Faithful Darwood as an Independent; Richard Peter Elvin for the UK Independence Party; Howling Laud Hope for the Official Monster Raving Loony Party; Ahmed Khan as an Independent; and Emma Lewell-Buck for Labour.