Welcome to the new Independent website. We hope you enjoy it and we value your feedback. Please contact us here.


Shadow poll

Four Labour MPs are standing for the Shadow Cabinet vacancy created by the resignation of Bryan Gould. The four, running in Labour's first by-election for a Shadow Cabinet position, are Tony Banks, Ron Davies, George Robertson and Clare Short.